Teef

Never before have I been so ready to drop that baby off at daycare as I was this morning. I had been up for two hours trying to placate what can only be described as “whining.” After repeated kisses and shushes and trying to gently rock her I said screw it. Might as well get the day started. So we got up, got dressed and we got out of the house just after 7am.

Foxy is teething. I feel sorry for her. Really I do. But Oh Em Gee, the whining makes me want to scream! And this is just the first two teeth! I don’t know how we are going to make it through the molars and bicuspids.

Last night I gave her a little baby tylenol, but I cannot keep the baby medicated while I wait for the rest of the teeth to come in. She has plenty of things to gnaw on. Things that are cold. Things that vibrate. But in the middle of the night when the pain wakes her, the last thing she is trying to do is chew on a cold piece of rubber.

So we suffer. And I kiss her and shush her and rock her. And I pray that she falls back asleep so I can get more than three hours of uninterrupted sleep.

This entry was posted in Foxy, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Teef

  1. nineteen69 says:

    Yup…get ready for a rough patch. I remember when I was pregnant and all the women would say ” Get your sleep now”. It wasn’t until I had the baby that I realized they were serious. YOU REALLY DON’T SLEEP.

    All I can say is, it will pass and you will be on to the next stage, the terrible two’s. LOL

  2. keyalus says:

    Litt.le Rem.edies Teeth.ing Tab.lets helped us out some. They are a homeopathic remedy. They are supposed to last for 6 hours so I would give Lewis a few at bedtime. There is another popular brand by Hy.land’s but those were recalled last fall.

    This stage does suck though!

    • sherri says:

      I thought there were major recalls on these recently?

      It will pass. I don’t think the rest are as sleep depriving as the first. Then again, I am sleep deprived. What do I know??

  3. SimplyB says:

    I have a friend who is going through the same thing with her son. I told her that we had to go through it and now they will but now that I read this I may have been a little insensitive.

  4. Petite Pearl says:

    Sorry to hear this Babs. I’m not looking forward to my son cutting teeth. He’s already showing signs of teething but that goes on for a while before the teeth come in.

  5. BK says:

    awh.. I’m sending you good vibes.. you will get through this..

    now do like the old people and rub a lil brandy on her gums.. 🙂 *I keed I keed* but it does work LOL

  6. heartdrops says:

    Poor Foxy and poor you! I hope you both get through this!

  7. nineteen69 says:

    Today, Tali 2 has two teeth shaking. I can’t believe how quickly we went from teething to losing baby teeth. *sniff*

  8. Bella says:

    If it’s an consolation, I think the first teeth that cut hurts them the most. My niece was miserable but after her first two teeth came throught she was fine with the rest of them.

Say something

