This is Where We Used to Live

I’m sitting here reading a book (not Wench) and it spoke of the really hot summer and how the people would go to movies and restaurants to seek refuge from the heat and I had a flashback.

Picture it…Columbus, 1998…

I was living in an old apartment that was one of four units of a converted house.  It was an upstairs unit and the building was all brick.  An oven.  My unit was not really a studio and not quite a one-bedroom.  It had a huge closet and bathroom, was clean and very centrally located.  The only problem- it didn’t have central air.  Or a window unit for that matter.  For most of the summer it didn’t bother me so much.  I had window fans that kept the circulation flowing.

But one night, one hot, steamy night it was so hot it was unbearable.  I remember laying in the center of my bed on top of the sheets, butterball nekkid and drenched with sweat.  It was so hot I couldn’t breathe, let alone sleep.  Before long I said screw it and got dressed, grabbed my keys and went to my car.  I turned on the AC, layed the seat back and slept.

I probably slept in the car like that for two hours, but then I either got creeped out or realized I was wasting gas or whatever.    I called my then-boyfriend and future ex-husband and told him I needed refuge.  After making the 15 minute drive to his house, I slipped between the cool sheets, rested my head on the pillow and was out.  I decided that night that I had to move.  I wasn’t cut out for living like that.  I moved before the end of the summer.

Sadly, that wasn’t the worst place I ever lived.  The worst place involved Minnie and Mickey and Mickey Jr.  But I’ll save that story for another day.

What’s the worst place you ever lived?  What’s the one luxury you cannot live without?  For me, it’s central air.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This is Where We Used to Live

  1. S23 says:

    Hmmm. I can’t say that I have lived in any bad places (Thank God!) I guess what I would consider lowest on teh totem pole was my first apt after I graduated college. It was in an area that was ok then but after living there a couple years it was too many hoodlums and thugs living in the same area so I moved. But the townhouse was nice! I remember the rent being something like $400 and that was the life.

  2. Gladys says:

    Same here. I don’t like it hot. Even my heat doesn’t go above 70 in the winter. And to think, I’m going to Bikram Yoga on Sunday. Lawd! Please pray I don’t pass out!

  3. keyalus says:

    I’ve never lived anywhere really, really bad! Does Decatur – Wesley Chapel Rd represent – count?

    I’m with you on the AC. I don’t tolerate heat well. I get miserable and can’t sleep. I got a full scholarship to William & Mary college in VA vs a half scholarship to Univ of Richmond. One of the major deciding factors in me choosing UR was that the freshman dorms at W&M didn’t have AC at all. The thought of a long hot summer was just not appealing.

  4. Sheena says:

    I never lived anywhere bad. Except my old apartment building, my neighbor liked to partake in smoking and the smell would be up in your apt like you were smoking it too.
    I can not live without central air, heat and my TV.
    I tell my mom all the time, I don’t see how her and her sibling did it growing up.

  5. Jack says:

    My first apartment when I was in college was above a restaurant and did not have a shower, only a bath tub. After living there for two months, I was relaxing in the tub with me eyes closed listening to the latest Smiths album. I open my eyes and staring at me no further then 6 inches away was a giant cockroach, I screamed like a girl and flew out of the tub making the biggest mess(I had never in my life seen a cockroach). Needless to say I moved out the next month and have never lived anywhere with cockroaches again.

    I also can not live with out AC!

  6. mzinspiredmind says:

    My first apartment was a 1bdrm for $375. Babs, its in Dayton and I bet you can guess where it is..SMH! LOL. It was in a big building where the hallways didn’t smell like roses and my car got broke into 3x. A week before I moved in, they found a woman’s body..stuffed in the dumpster.(I couldn’t make this up if I wanted to). My parents did NOT wanting me living there but I was “grown” and said “it’s not that bad”(the hell it wasn’t) so I moved in anyway. I lasted all of a year there and got the heck outta dodge.

    The one non negotiable for me is central air. It used to be central a/c and a washer & dryer. I’ve purchased my own w/d now though so just the a/c. LOL

  7. MrsTDJ says:

    The first apartment that hubs and I had was a super cute, super cheap basement apartment inside a brownstone in downtown DC. Loved everything about it until the first time we had a real rain storm. Apartment flooded. Did that two more times before we just had to move.

    Yep, central air is a must for me. I just cannot be hot and uncomfortable. Plus as an asthmatic, I’m sometimes unable to catch my breath, especially when it’s humid.

  8. AR Gal says:

    None of the (post childhood home) places I’ve lived have been bad. My first apartment wasn’t the greatest but again it wasn’t bad. There were things I didn’t care for like the stackable washer and dryer (I was used to the full version) but hey at least I had one in the apartment. Or the heat\air wall unit. It was loud at times. Orrrrrrrrrrrr, the fact that the apartment was rather small but it was just me so it really wasn’t that big of a deal until I moved into my next place a couple of years later. I still love and miss my second apartment. It was absolutely perfect for me.

    Now that I think about it. The worst place I’ve ever lived was in the dorms. I hated dorm living and couldn’t wait to get out of there.

  9. Nerd Girl says:

    I can live without air conditioning. Heat is my deal breaker. In college I lived in one of my grandmother’s old rental houses for the low-low of free. It was an old wood framed house on blocks. Had space heaters. I was so damn cold every winter it is a miracle I made it out of bed to go to class. I had fish in my guest bedroom. Those jokers literally froze to death. And Mickey and Minnie’s cousins would pay me a visit every winter. Dis. Gus. Ting.

    That ish right there? Propelled me to finish school – there was no way I was living like that for the rest of my life.

    Hey…I think my Grandma might’ve been a slum lord…

  10. amyg says:

    My college apartment on 14th ave. was lovely. It was infested with cockroaches courtesy of the frat guys next door, and the other present they shared with us was a HUGE f*cking rat that they knew about and were trying to kill with poison – and they did….But not before it chewed a whole under their sink and crawled under our sink and croaked on our kitchen floor. My roommate almost had a heart attack when she came home from class.

  11. discodiva73 says:

    My second year of college I lived in a rooming house on Fair Street. Hated it! The peeps would eat my food and never clean the bathroom.

Say something

