A Tribute to My Grocer

On Saturday I found myself cleeeeeeaaaaar on the other side of town for a mommy meetup.  I had to stop at the grocery store beforehand so I pulled out my trusty Garmin and pulled up the closest Publix.  When I got there I discovered it was closed down.  The only other non-supermercado was a Kroger.  I headed that way hoping it wasn’t too terribly rowdy.

It was ’bout it ’bout it.

As soon as I walked in I wanted to turn around and walk out.  There were people every where.  The lines were long.  Bey Bey’s were running around unsupervised.  I even saw one little boy riding on the grocery cart…on the bottom where you put dog food and other large items. *smh*

I headed over to the yogurt section to get some baby yogurt.  Wouldn’t you know it, not one kind of baby yogurt.  Not one kind.  But when I walked past the ethnic hair section they had everything under the sun.

That right there is the reason I don’t shop at Kroger.  Which is crazy cause where I’m from, Kroger is really nice.  Down here it’s hit or miss.  And I choose to miss.

Today when I stopped in to my favorite Publix I was much happier.  The store was calm and clean.  The produce guy stopped to speak, making conversation (including barking like a dog) with the baby.  My favorite cashier commented on how much she changes every week.  Yes, I am in there every week.  And they know me.

On my way out I put in a special request with the store manager for a product.  He took my name and number and assured me he would call me to let me know if he could get it.  That’s customer service.

Sometimes I think about moving, but I realize I’d have to move within the same neighborhood because I love my Publix so much.

Do you have a favorite grocery store?  OR do you shop at whatever is the most convenient or the closest?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Tribute to My Grocer

  1. K says:

    I go to our neighborhood grocery store because I can walk there, it’s near an ice cream shop and they carry Iris’ formula at the best price in town. Sometimes their grapes are jenky, but I’m willing to overlook that.

  2. Krissy says:

    My fav believe or not is target. I’m sure I’m in there at least once a week shopping their grocer section or just shopping in general. I lovee my target!

  3. mzinspiredmind says:

    I ONLY will shop at our Kroger Marketplaces. They are absolutely gorgeous, have a great selection and are always well kept. If I’m in a true time crunch I’ll go to Cub Foods or Meijers but I try to avoid that at all costs.

  4. Barista says:

    In an effort to keep my cupcake costs low I go wherever is cheapest. Most of my dry ingredients are cheapest at Target and the wet are cheaper at Kroger. My Kroger isn’t nasty, though, and Publix is more expensive than both 90% of the time.

    But I remember the days when I used to be able to do all of my shopping at Harry’s and not flinch when I’d spend $300/trip. *Sigh* I miss the good times.

  5. Honest says:

    I shop at a variety of places (WF, Trader Joes, Safeway). There’s a ghetto safeway within walking distance but I avoid it at all costs because it is a hot ghetto mess.

  6. K. Rock says:

    I like Kroger. I do avoid the Kroger that is closest to me but there is another one near that is nice. I avoid Publix as much as I can because they are so expensive. And they don’t have as many generic items as Kroger does.

  7. Shea says:

    Oh, it’s uncouth to ride on the bottom of the shopping cart? Maaan, we used LOVE riding there; two deep at that. Hell, for the longest I thought that’s where kids were supposed to go.

    But, to answer your question, we shop Aldi’s all day e’ry day. If going to a major chain, it’s Publix for me.

  8. Rehab says:

    I give weekly groupie love to Harry’s Farmers Market.. I just love that place..

  9. MrsTDJ says:

    I see nothing wrong with having your preferences. In my area, I shop at a Giant grocery store. It’s almost always cheaper than Safeway and all of the Shopper’s Food stores are horrible to me. I even prefer some specific Giant’s more than others because of their layouts.

Say something

