Carbo Loading

For a while, Foxy had gotten down to one awakening a night.  After months of her waking every 2-3 hours, I looked at it as a victory.  Her waking at around 3am meant I could be back asleep by 315, which gave me another three hours of sleep before getting up for the day.  Unfortunately, she has begun to regress a little in her sleep pattern.  She is waking twice a night.  The first time is anywhere between 11p and 130am, and the second is anywhere between 3am and 5am.

It goes without saying that I am back to being hella-tired.  She is waking because she is hungry, so I figure that means she is not getting enough calories during the day.  Her daily diet consists mostly of pureed fruits, yogurt and baby oatmeal.  Dinner is usually a little more hearty, but she is usually sleepy at dinnertime and barely eats.

I decided today that I am going to have to make sure she gets enough calories during the day.  Fruit and yogurt just isn’t cutting it anymore!

Tonight I decided to make baby a little “shepherd’s pie.”  I think the mix of protein, starch and veggies will be very satisfying.  I’ve never actually had shepherd’s pie, but I knew the gist of the dish so I whipped it up for dinner.

First I cooked ground beef.  I drained the fat and used a paper towel to soak up the rest.

Then I added a layer of mashed potatoes.  No, I didn’t make them from scratch tonight.  I bought the refrigerated kind. *shame face*

Finally, I steamed a bag of frozen peas and carrots and pureed them.  I set them atop the beef and potatoes.

I think it came out pretty good.  In fact, I ate the same thing, pureed veggies and all (and it was only 11 points).  Of course, I added more salt and pepper to mine, but it wasn’t half bad.

After Foxy’s first bite, she smiled and said “mmmmmm.”  Unfortunately, she only ate a few bites before she started giving me the “I’m tired momma” signals.  I’ve already packed her shepherd’s pie for lunch tomorrow.  I’m sure she’ll clean her plate at lunch!

Do you have any ideas for calorie heavy foods?  What sticks to your baby’s ribs?

This entry was posted in Food, Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Carbo Loading

  1. Ms. Smart says:

    Have I told you how yummy this baby is? I have? Oh. Well then. Moving on!

  2. Krissy says:

    That picture of her is too cute lol. It made me giggle.

    Anything with potatos usually do it for mt munchkin. And anytime oatmeal is involved she’s good too. She eats 2 packages of the instant stuff. She’s also a meat eater. I notice when they cook her things with meat(ground beef for turkey) she won’t even eat when she gets home. She’ll go straight to bed.

  3. Rehab says:

    That is one photogenic little girl.. I just love her!!

  4. AR Gal says:

    She actually said mmmmmmm? Hilarious! I think it’s quite possible that Foxy has discovered her favorite dish.

  5. Love that picture. I do find it rather ironic that while you (and I for that matter) are trying to limit your carb intake, you have to pump hers up. Was it the carbs that has been putting us to sleep all these years??!

  6. CaliSlim says:

    When is her last feeding at daycare. Perhaps they should eliminate that one or cut it in half so that she’s actually really hungry when it’s dinner time.

    • Ha! That’s cute. You gave me mothering advice. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way. Milk trumps solids, so we never deny her that. I just have to make sure her big meals are breakfast and lunch when she’s not cranky.

  7. heartdrops says:

    LOL Foxy’s shirt says Foxy! Too cute!

  8. onefromphilly says:

    That picture of Foxy is priceless. I can hear her saying mmmmmm. LOL

    My Mom kept my son daily until he was 3. She feed him such big portions for breakfast and lunch that he hardly ate dinner with us. CaliSlim has a point. They may be giving the kids an afternoon snack a little late in the afternoon.

  9. CaliSlim says:

    😕 Actually I wasn’t giving you mothering advice, it was more of a question and a rationale behind why I asked in the first place.

  10. Gladys says:

    I would have rubbed my tummy after that meal!

  11. Honest says:

    I don’t know much but what I do know is that baby is really too cute! Love that Foxy shirt.

  12. 1969 says:

    She is sooooo cute. How about baked or mashed sweet potatoes?

  13. Bunny says:

    Foxy is just too dang cute man! Good luck with all the suggestions.

  14. t. sheree says:

    That is pure joy on that baby’s face. 😀 LOL!@ the nameplate shirt.

  15. najalimu says:

    I know I’m a little late here. Baby Naj’s routine typically consists of pureed fruit/oatmeal for breakfast and a meat or fish/veggie/brown rice puree for lunch AND dinner. She’s been eating like this since I’ve been mixing her foods and she sleeps through the night, about 10 hours.

Say something

