Read and Share: Best of Everything

When I came across Best of Everything by Rona Jaffe a few weeks ago, I knew I wanted to read it.  I suggested it for my mommy book club and was pleasantly surprised when it was selected for the February read.  I feel like the last few books that I’ve read have all been about endangered children, and as a mother I get tired of that.  I wanted to read something salacious and intriguing!

As you know I am a huge fan of the show “Mad Men.”  From the synopsis, this book looked like it was Mad Men for women.  It is set during the mid-fifties and is told from the female perspective in the New York business world.

I really enjoyed the book.  I was drawn in to the different storylines.  I felt sorry for the women in this book.  I felt like they were always getting the shaft.  Be it in relationships or at work.  The women in this book seemed so desperate to marry and have children.  They seemed to be working just to pass the time until they wed.

It should be noted that this was written during the fities so I really valued the authenticity of the female plight.

I also noted the obvious sexual harrassment and favoritism in the work place.  It is amazing what used to pass for legal and fair just sixty years ago.  Hardly anything depicted in this book would fly nowadays.

Overall, I really enjoyed Best of Everything and I recommend it.  I loved visualizing the style of dress and the over indulgence of scotch.  I sympathized with the female characters and loathed the male characters.  I think it’s great that something written sixty years ago can still be so provocative today.

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Read and Share: Best of Everything

  1. I love when I read something from some time ago that still resonates and speaks to me today! Best of Everything sounds like a pretty good read, and if anything, a true testament of how far women have come. If I ever find time with my single mom/full time grad student self, I’ll pick it up. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. V Renee says:

    Sounds like a good read. I’m going to check the library site to see if they have it now. Thanks!

  3. K says:

    This looks good! Thanks for reading and sharing…

  4. SoniaB says:

    I’m attempting to read 100 books in 2011 so I’m on the hunt for good reads. I just added this to my Amazon order.

Say something

