Mommy’s Day Off

This morning when the alarm went off I jumped out of bed filled with glee.  I quickly showered* and got dressed and then woke the baby up and got her dressed.  I picked up some donuts and dropped them and the baby off at daycare.  I was ready to get my Monday started!

No, I didn’t have an important meeting.  No, I wasn’t getting a raise.  I was on vacation!  That’s right.  I took a vacation day today for the sole purpose of having some me time.

I started the day out by getting my hair done.  I needed a trim and wasn’t in the mood to flat iron my hair, so I headed to the Dominican’s for a quick wash, set and trim.  It’s been more than a month since I wore my hair straight and I have to tell you, I don’t like it all that much.  It seems so thin and flat.  I miss my big wild hair!

After the salon de belleza, I headed to the movie theater.  I was armed with my gift certificate from Barista and a concession stand gift card that DiscoDiva gave me yesterday.  It expired today so the timing was perfect.  I knew I was either going to see “The King’s Speech” or “Hall Pass” but didn’t decide until I got to the ticket window.  In the end I went with the comedy because I needed two hours of mindless laughing.  That’s just what I got.  I wasn’t nearly prepared for the raunchiness, guy humor or the giant p.e.n.i.s.  I truly gasped and then blinked and realized it’s been a couple of years since I’ve seen anything like THAT**.

After the movie I took myself to lunch.  I hit up a greek restaurant and had a yummy gyro.  Afterwards I ran a couple of errands and ended up back in my neighborhood.  My plan was to leave her at daycare until 6pm so I could have a full day to myself, but there was a storm brewing outside.  I made the tough decision to pick her up two hours early.

It was a good day to myself.  I was able to run in and out of stores and the post office without having to unload the baby.  I was able to get a much needed haircut.  And I was able to go to a movie.

Now I’m chillin with my girl.  She wouldn’t let me vacuum because she’s scared of it.  She wanted to stay in my arms during the thunderstorm.  And I just had to do an assist in the diaper arena.  Nothing says I love you like pulling poop out of your baby’s arse.

*sigh*

So glad I had a mini-break today.

 

 

 

 

*I just realized I never actually showered.  I was so excited I just brushed my teeth and got dressed.  Good thing I showered the night before.

**I’m still not interested in seeing one.

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mommy’s Day Off

  1. sherri says:

    Years, hunh? 😉

    That made me laugh. Thanks. You’re bad, but funny!

  2. Nerd Girl says:

    You slay me with your humor!

    Nothing like a mental health day – I’m thinking about taking one in a couple of weeks. I’m lying. I’m thinking about taking two!

  3. You so deserve it. Taking time for yourself is high priority. Make sure to do it again…soon.
    Can’t wait to see the movie !

  4. Honest says:

    I need a mental health day! I should have taken one this month but will need to take one next week maybe.

  5. discodiva73 says:

    No mention of the ittybittyteenyweeny one? That was more shocking! I think Hall Pass was the funniest movie I have seen since the Hangover. I was laughing HARD. Nice and silly. Perfect for a Mommy Day Out.

    I hope you used all $10 of that concession! Otherwise, run back out now and get something!

  6. busybodyk says:

    Glad you did that for yourself! You deserve it! Sounds like a good day 🙂

  7. K says:

    I LOVE those days. The husband and I will do day-dates where we drop the kidlets off at daycare/with the nanny and go about our business of meals (breakfast AND lunch) and a movie, with the kidlets none the wiser. The day ends with all of us so much happier.

    Glad you had a lovely day.

  8. MrsTDJ says:

    Gosh, aren’t those days THE BEST???? **must find a way to have one at least once a month**

Say something

