No Shaniqua

I stopped at Pier One today on my way home to check out their plates.  As I was walking in, an older gentleman did a double take and walked towards me.  “Excuse me,” he said, “I am not trying to hit on you but I just wanted to tell you that I love your hair.”

I smiled.  My first hair compliment from a random stranger!  I thanked him and continued to walk into the store.  Oh, but he wasn’t finished…

He went on to tell me that he appreciated that I didn’t have “any Shaniqua hanging down the back” or “any crayon up and though” my hair.  He said men get so tired of women with all that crazy hair or not bothering to do their hair at all.

*blink*

He continued by thanking me for taking the time to get up and do my hair early this morning.  Well he didn’t know if I got up early, but at least I got up and did it.  Oh and by the way he really liked how I was dressed.  My clothes weren’t too tight or flashy.

*blink*

Then he commented that men like nice, regular looking women.  He said that he didn’t know if I was high maintenance or not, but he didn’t think I was by the way I was dressed.

When I started laughing he told me not to laugh because he was being serious.  I thanked him once again and walked away laughing.

I love it when strangers give me blog fodder!

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No Shaniqua

  1. krissy says:

    Either he WAS trying to pick you up for he’s just too damn chatty lol. That was a bit much.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I would totally say that “older gentleman” was my father because it sounds like something he’d say, but I know he would never step foot into a Pier One. I bet that guy had been wanting to get that off his chest, and he finally found a lady he could tell it to.

  3. K. Rock says:

    Ugh. I dont like him. I get what he was trying to say but her didn’t have diss so many other women in the process. But a comment sure does feel good.

  4. Deljah says:

    He didn’t know how to quit and keep it moving, lol.

  5. heartdrops says:

    He just had to get that off his chest. Makes sense to me.

  6. Bunny says:

    Me and my tourettes having self woulda been like, “Damn dude, Really????” My tongue has a mind of its own sometimes. LOL!

  7. Well, he has a point. There is a whole lotta ghettofab amongst us. I’m tired of purple hair too!

Say something

