Informal Poll

Do you say AUNT (rhymes with haunt) or AUNT (rhymes with can’t)?

Please respond and state your race and geographic location. 

Please and thank you.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Informal Poll

  1. Tazzee says:

    Aunt (rhymes with haunt) – I hate ‘Ant’ or ‘Anty’

    Black woman originally from the Midwest.

  2. cbean says:

    Aunt (as in haunt) on the regular. Black/From Virginia, in Texas.
    When feeling intimate or sentimental, I will say Annie.

  3. SimplyB says:

    AUNT (rhymes with haunt)

    Black woman born and raised in the South.

  4. mepookiesan says:

    Aunt(haunt)…black, from DC.

  5. Courtney says:

    Aunt, rhymes with haunt; from VA.

  6. t. sheree says:

    Aunt (haunt) when speaking OF her. Sometimes, Aunt (can’t) when speaking TO. 🙂 Black, in TX.

  7. Mrs. AKAtude says:

    AUNT (rhymes with haunt)

    Black woman born and raised in the South

  8. AUNT (rhymes with can’t)

    Black woman from Texas (but with people from the country).

    The only time I use AUNT (rhymes with haunt) is when I am speaking to someone else (normally mixed company) about her.

  9. Gladys says:

    AUNT (rhymes with haunt)
    Born and raised in Mississippi, but living in DC. Black female.

  10. Lori F says:

    Aunt/can’t

    White chick from the heart of it all ❤
    (hell, you know me!) 🙂

    Side note: it's been my experience that aunt/haunt seems to be a black family type of thing, not necessarily a geographical one. I, too, have wondered about this so I'll be curious to see your results.

  11. Kena says:

    Aunt/Haunt…I’m in CA. I am one of the few black people where I work…I have noticed the racial divide in how it seems like most other races say Aunt/Can’t.

  12. Clu says:

    Aunt (as in haunt) – New York, NY

  13. dmac says:

    depends on who i’m talking about….might rhyme with haunt if I’m in mixed company, might just run together if its someboby my mom’s age – ainefannielou (aunt fanny lou) never ant 40+ yo, B/F raised and living in the south

  14. Cyn says:

    Aunt/Haunt
    Black women in So. Cal but all my West Indian family say Aunt/Haunt too.

  15. Aunt (rhymes with Haunt)
    Black woman originally from the Midwest.
    My beau pronounces it the same way. He is black born in the south but raised in the Northeast.

  16. Lisa says:

    I say both, depending and I don’t know why.

    Black female, MD

  17. mzinspiredmind says:

    For my fam that lives outside of the Midwest/South…I say my Aunt (rhymes w/ haunt) . For my fam that lives in the Midwest/South..I say Aunt (rhymes w/ can’t). I’m a black female in OH

  18. heartdrops says:

    AUNT (rhymes with can’t).
    I’m African.

  19. Dark&Lovely says:

    Aunt (Haunt) when referring to my aunt but when I’m talking to my aunt I say Aint or more like Ain (w/no ‘t’)

    Black from Kentucky

  20. Barista says:

    Can’t.
    White – midwest.

  21. Deljah says:

    Aunt rhymes with haunt. Born/raised in NC, living in Atl.

    38 on Friday!!! Black

  22. ames says:

    Haunt when speaking to her, can’t when speaking of her. California. Black.

  23. amista says:

    I say Aunt (rhymes with haunt). I’m black from the northeast. My Dad from the midwest – Kansas City, MO – used to say it as it rhymes with can’t, so I’m a little surprised to see all these midwesterners & southerners who say it as it rhymes with haunt. (He also called soda pop, which I definitely thought was a regional thing.)

  24. Aunt = Can’t in my vocab…from the great white north of Montreal Canada!

  25. amyg says:

    aunt/can’t …Ohio, White.

  26. doahleigh says:

    Fun! My aunt rhymes with can’t. From the midwest. But my sister-in-law, also from the midwest, pronounces it to rhyme with font.

  27. Maz says:

    Aunt (rhyming w/ Haunt)..Black woman born and raised in the UK, now living in the South (FL).

  28. K. Rock says:

    Haunt. Black. A.T.L

  29. sundaze says:

    I say aunt like can’t, although I’m the only one in my family who does. I think I picked it up in school. I’m black and from the Northeast.

  30. justJENN says:

    Am I the only Asian on here? I’m not a very good Asian tho. But I say Aunt (can’t). From Los Angeles.

  31. Stephanie says:

    Aunt/haunt, black, Atl

  32. august says:

    Aunt like can’t…black female…Mississippi

  33. AR Gal says:

    Aunt\haunt

    Black

    AR

  34. keishame says:

    Aunt like ain’t when I speaking to her. Aunt like haunt when speaking to folks of her that aren’t from my area or mixed company……Black from Texas

  35. keyalus says:

    Aunt/Haunt

    From VA.

  36. yvonne says:

    Aunt/haunt

    Black from the midwest

    And I totally agree with you. Had this same convo a couple of weeks ago with a white coworker (Aunt/can’t)

  37. Rehab says:

    I def say h(aunt)..

    Reppin that hood azz D!! LOL

  38. busybodyk says:

    aunt as in rhymes with haunt
    black woman
    from NY so I say it more like awnt

  39. Twana says:

    Aunt /haunt
    black from NY

  40. Miss Ali D says:

    Aunt/haunt, black, California

  41. Dee says:

    Aunt = haunt
    Black
    Born/raised in South (MS & AL)

  42. Mick says:

    Aunt rhymes with haunt….

    Depending on the aunt…”Ain’t” or “Ain’tee” (Now THAT is country). Or my favorite…Tante (French for aunt)

  43. CC says:

    Aunt/Haunt
    Black, born & raised in NY

  44. onefromphilly says:

    Philly, Black

    AUNT (haunt)

    Aunt (ant) = a bug

  45. Akima says:

    Black, from Cleveland and I say aunt/haunt.

    I always thought it was a race thing because white people growing up always said aunt/can’t.

  46. Sheena says:

    Aunt (haunt) or Auntie.
    Black/Mississippi

  47. Solo Cruise says:

    AUNT (rhymes with haunt)

    Black. Born and raised in Metro Atlanta.

  48. jamie says:

    aunt=can’t white male raised in california/lived in deep south/ living in midwest

  49. sherri says:

    Aunt/can’t

    Black chick from Cali who has been told that she speaks “proper”.

  50. dmcmillian72 says:

    Aunt (haunt)… Black female raised in Southern Alabama…

  51. GP says:

    California
    Black
    Fam from Mississsippi
    We all say ain’t to them now as adults and tee tee when we were little.
    But aunt/haunt in mixed company.

    Ex. Hey Ain’t Pat

  52. laughing808 says:

    Aunt (haunt)
    DC/MD

Say something

