Rhymes with Can’t

Today I was having lunch with a coworker and I mentioned my aunt (rhymes with can’t) and he looked at me and asked me to repeat myself.  I said it again- aunt (rhymes with can’t) and he started laughing.  This after he ordered the SAL-MON for which I gave him the side eye but kept my mouth shut.

I asked him what was so funny and he said I sounded soooo country saying aunt (rhymes with can’t).  I told him that most certainly was not country.  He said only country people say aunt (rhymes with can’t) and that it’s pronounced aunt (rhymes with haunt).

We went back and forth making fun of each other for a while.  I insisted that I was not wrong for saying aunt (rhymes with can’t). I told him that people say it differently.  Namely black and whites.  I told him that white people typically say aunt (rhymes with can’t) and I, having grown up in an all white town, learned to say it that way.

Still, he disagreed with me and we found ourselves asking randoms what they call their father’s sister.  After lunch and reindeer games, we agreed to disagree.  Though he still thinks I’m country.  Can you imagine!?

I’m no scientist, but I think my highly detailed and well thought-out poll proved my point today.  Most blacks say aunt (rhymes with haunt) and whites and one bad Asian say aunt (rhymes with can’t).

Now about that salmon…

 

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Rhymes with Can’t

  1. cbean says:

    Hollering @ “one bad asian”

  2. Shea says:

    Hmmm, we say aunt (rhymes with paint) which may be the bastardized version of the way whites pronounce aunt (rhymes with can’t).

  3. coco327 says:

    I think it just depends on the people b/c my mom’s family (her cousins) is all Southern and lived in the segregated South and they all say aunt (rhymes with can’t) to this day. When I was younger I said it that way as well.

  4. busybodyk says:

    I think its more about what your parents say. If my mom said ant then I’d say it. My friend’s kids call me auntie and they are from all over and say it like it rhymes with haunt.

  5. Monica h says:

    Born and raised is South GA where we say various versions of Aunt, rhymes with can’t and ain’t. Much like Shea posted above, there are other variations that I can’t even begin to spell, lol but Aunt, rhymes with Haunt, was never is our speak.

  6. Monica h says:

    I can’t stand when folks say saLmon. Ugggggh

  7. Barista says:

    SALmon drives me crazy. Unless it’s served with shrimps.

  8. Honest says:

    Hmmm I actually say it both ways. Webster says Aunt (rhymes with c’ant).

    My parents are foreigners with heavy accents so I had to learn from teachers, TV and others on how to correctly pronounce words in the English language. Didn’t help that I grew up in Brooklyn. lol!

  9. Nerd Girl says:

    Team aunt/haunt.

    I just polled my coworkers – white, southern women – they’re definitely team aunt/can’t.

  10. pserendipity says:

    Let’s just start a T.T. movement….

    • Sheena says:

      I agree. That’s what all my aunts are called T.T./T. “whatever there name is”.
      My nephews don’t know the word aunt. All they know is T.T Sheena.

  11. InnerDiva says:

    We say Aunt/Haunt when speaking about them to others. To their faces it’s Auntie/ Can’t-ie.

  12. doahleigh says:

    I forgot to mention in my comment on the last post that I’m white, but that only further proves your point.

  13. Sha Boogie says:

    I had the same reaction your co-worker did when my boss said aunt (rhymes with can’t) I was like ‘excuse me?’ lol

  14. justJENN says:

    ONE BAD ASIAN IS MY NEW BAND NAME.

  15. Bunny says:

    Why did a doctor I know pronounce that word SALmon?!??? I could have slithered under my chair. We were at dinner on a cruise and she was giving her order. I mean really???

  16. nineteen69 says:

    I say aunt like ant and I am Caribbean. 🙂

  17. K says:

    Huh. I say aunt/can’t and so does the Husband.

    I always thought it was a Midwestern thing (as it can be said sooooo nasally), but Husband grew up all over–so maybe not?

  18. I had to think about this for a minute because initially I was like, no, it’s aunt like haunt. But then…we call my mother’s sisters and uncles’ wives aunt like haunt but we call my grandmother’s sisters, aunt like ain’t and ant. Not sure why there is a difference. Maybe we got bougie in the next generation? LOL!

    We’re from North Carolina.

Say something

