The Misfits

I work with a bunch of misfits.  They are simply ridiculous.  Today we had a team meeting wherein we were discussing our new team.  You know the team where we all had to apply and where some people didn’t get jobs?  So those of us that did get job met to discuss going forward.  I was in charge of the presentation because I have been privy to the planning and strategizing.  I knew going in that there would be resistance, but these broads took it to a whole ‘nother level.

Sitting in the back and talking under their breath and snickering and complaining.  They were worse than the 1st graders I read aloud to last week.  One lady actually complained that I didn’t order crackers with the FREE LUNCH.  I provided sandwiches, salads, chips and dessert and she had the nerve to complain about the lack of crackers!

Another woman complained that we wanted everyone to stand up in a kickoff meeting and say a couple of sentences about themselves.

“Why do you want us to do that?  They don’t need to know about my expertise.  They just want to know what I am going to do.”

Oh and she also stole the special vegetarian sandwich I had ordered for our new boss.

Misfits, I tell ya!

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Misfits

  1. kim says:

    They work everywhere unfortunately!

  2. AR Gal says:

    “Another woman complained that we wanted everyone to stand up in a kickoff meeting and say a couple of sentences about themselves.”

    While I never voice it in a meeting, I hate doing the ‘get to know you’ stuff. Then again, some people here can and have taken the ish to a whole ‘nother completely unnecessary level. As in, in addition to ‘tell us about yourself’ also tell us who you consider your hero and the ultimate supreme of bullshiteous request. Tell us what you would like your life’s work to represent. o_O Both of those gems came from my previous supervisor who has since taken herself and the can of hot air she inflated her ego with elsewhere. UGH!

    No crackers?! Whatever will she do?!

  3. CC says:

    I feel your pain. Seriously…complaining about lack of crackers? How about being grateful you still have a j-o-b. Clueless, I tell ya’. Good luck!!

  4. K says:

    Those aren’t misfits…those are workplace hooligans.

  5. onefromphilly says:

    Thank God I’m in a small group where we get along fine. I would hate to go to work everyday with people that i didn’t get along with.

    I share the same educational background as many of the folks in our larger office. But I have been a misfit since 5 years ago when I came over here just for a promotion. However I’m smart enough to be a misfit that flys below the radar.

  6. Cyn says:

    Dang and these are the folks chosen to keep their jobs? What were the others like?

Say something

