No Hoarding Over Here

I love to throw stuff away.  I love it.  As soon as I think I won’t use something anymore, I toss it.  For some reason that doesn’t apply to my clothes, shoes and accessories.  I seem to keep that stuff forever.  Recently, I’ve been rectifying that.

I’m on a throw out my old clothes mission.  Yes, I know I should be donating stuff to goodwill and that is usually what I would do, but I don’t have time for all of that.  Besides, most of my stuff is so worn it’s really not worth the dollar a goodwill store might get for it.

Throwing out old clothes is so freeing.  It’s ridiculous for stuff to sit on a hanger for 3 years and never be touched.  Gone!  Lingerie from my wedding in 2001?  Gone!  An entire drawer that I haven’t even opened in two years?  Gone!  Every single item, without even giving it more than a passing glance.  Let’s be honest, if I haven’t been missing it, I won’t be missing it.

I’ve done the same thing with Regan’s clothes, but that is more out of necessity.  I have to get rid of her clothes in order to make room for the next size.  I have three bags on 6-9 cold weather clothes ready to go to the first taker.  Oh and her baby equipment?  Gone!  Car seat, swing, stroller, rocker. Gone.  Gone. Gone. Gone!  Now I just need to figure out what to do with infant towels, receiving blankets and burp cloths.

If you knew how tiny my house was, you’d understand.  There just isn’t any room for keeping stuff.  I have to make the most of my space.

I still need to go through my utility closet, and I need to run through the cabinets of each bathroom, but my spring cleaning is almost over.  By May, we will be completely decluttered!

Do you go through fits of decluttering in your home or do you tend to keep stuff for far too long?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No Hoarding Over Here

  1. kimmy says:

    There is a gently used store near me called Once Upon a Child. I take my kids clothes and toys there. I receive CASH for them if they are in good condition. You should check and see if there is one near you. Sometimes I’ll give the good stuff to my friends, stuff that I paid a lot for that I have a hard time departing with. Sometimes I’ll buy things in the store with the money that I receive. It’s great!

  2. Krissy says:

    I decluttered when I moved this last time. I give all jasmines small clothes to a girl at my bestfriends church who had a twins in october. I’ve given her girl twin so much stuff she only needs to buy her clothes if she wants to.

  3. K says:

    I toss/donate stuff like it’s MY JOB. I love it.

  4. AR Gal says:

    I’ll throw something out in a minute. Mistah on the other hand….*sigh*. He’s one of those ‘hold onto it, we may need it later’ folks. I let him speak his peace and then throw out whatever it is when he’s not looking. He (usually) never misses it. LOL

  5. Nerd Girl says:

    I’m really good at throwing my stuff out. I feel kind of bad when I throw out Smoochy or Lovegirl’s stuff, but I do it anyhow because those two know they would hold on to everything if I let them.

  6. onefromphilly says:

    I don’t hoard, but I do keep things for too long. I’ve been on a mission to replace and renew. We started with the Living room and Dining room. New furniture, new pillows, new lamps, new curtains, new paint. And somewhere along the line I will be able to get that carpet up and get harwood floors. I feel better everyday when I walk through!

    My next big project is my closet, the guest room closet, the storage bins and my dresser drawers. If I could sit still for one weekend I could get it all done. I’ve got to go hard on myslef and live by the 3 RULE…Wear it, Give it away or Throw it away. I hope I’m brave enough to do like you did and just toss a whole drawer full of stuff I haven’t looked at in years.

  7. I really need to do this! My husband has no closet space in the master and there are 2 walk in closets in there. I made him put all his stuff in the guest room..*shamed*

  8. Gladys says:

    This week will begin my decluttering. Stuff has to go!

  9. Sasha says:

    I just went through my closet one morning and pulled all the dresses that I don’t wear anymore. Then, yesterday I went through my dresser and pulled out shirts. Some can go to Plato’s Closet. So maybe I’ll get some cash back.
    I do go through spurts where I declutter and tyr to organize things. BUT I HAVE to be in the mood.

  10. mzinspiredmind says:

    I usually will hold on to stuff for a while and then get a hair up my butt(my granma used to say that..LOL) and go on decluttering rages. My last one was a couple of weeks ago…it felt GREAT!

Say something

