Obsession Numero Dos

My life won’t be complete until I makeover my closets.  No seriously, birth of my child aside, life has no meaning without an ELFA closet.

I have longed for an Elfa closet for years, but recently it’s become my obsession.  I love going to the Container Store website where you can put in your closet measurements.  I love playing with different designs and looks.  I love to dream about what the greatness my matchbox closet can achieve.

 

The Dream

 

It is truly at the top of the list of things I must do before year’s end.  I should have done it when I bought the place, but I always had the closet in the spare room, so the lack of space was manageable.  Now that Regan has moved in, and taken away my spare closet, I suddenly feel like my closet walls are caving in on me.

I would like to think that I could just do the closet myself, but I am going to have to employ a handyman to get my closet ready for Elfa.  The old shelving needs to be removed, walls need to be patched and painted, and then the new system can be installed.

I want an Elfa closet.  I will have an Elfa closet.  It is my obsession.

Do you have an Elfa closet?  Did you do it yourself?  Do you just love it?!?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Obsession Numero Dos

  1. K says:

    I tend to lose my damn mind in the Container Store. It very much appeals to my OCD tendency to have everything tidy and…contained.

  2. Nerd Girl says:

    I would absolutely love to have my closet done over like this! I am a non-realized neat freak 🙂

    To answer your question, nope, I don’t have one.

  3. Jameil says:

    I don’t get to design an Elfa closet online b/c mine is a walk-in. That should never be a curse! It should always be a blessing! I was so outraged I left the site. I got a Container Store gift card for Christmas and I’m gonna go try to put it to use tomorrow! Excited!

  4. Mick says:

    I have an Elfa system. I installed it myself. In fact, I have installed Elfas in 5 closets (three of mine and 2 of my mother’s). It is very easy and limited tools (stud finder, drill, and level). Yes. I like it. Plus I like that I can change configurations.

    Regan will need an Elfa closet also. 🙂

  5. Rehab says:

    I *sort of* have an Elfa closet if by Elfa, you also mean bootleg. I went to the Container Store, designed my closet, and then went to Lowes and bought the shelving I needed at a 1/3 of the cost. They have similar shelving. It’s not called Elfa, but honestly, I can’t tell the diff.

  6. ames says:

    The guy who lived here before us did something similar to that to the closets. He also built a a bar counter in the kitchen. I appreciate his efforts.

    I like it. I’d love a Kimora-like closet.

  7. sundaze says:

    I read another blog where the author was obsessed with closets. She ended up getting the PAX system from Ikea. I don’t know how it compares with this one, but she seems very happy with it.

  8. Tazzee says:

    I had an Elfa closet and garage at the house I had before moving to Houston. BFF and I put it up and it was pretty easy. Taking down the existing shelving was the hard part.

    I want one in my current home but hubby balks at the price. I’m working on him…

Say something

