Ain’t No Party Like a Nintendo 3DS Party!

When I received the invite to attend the Nintendo 3DS Summit in Seattle, I just knew I had to go.  I mean, let’s be real, Nintendo isn’t passing out invites to just anybody.  The fact that they included lil ole ME meant a lot.

After a long flight, I arrived in Seattle on Thursday evening.  After making my way to the shuttle, I hopped on board and immediately met some other bloggers.    We made our way to the fabulous Hyatt Regency in Bellevue.  And honey, I mean it was FABULOUS!  Top notch service, beautifully decorated rooms, comfy beds and HDTV.  I could have stayed in my room all weekend, but I had a party to get to!

Thursday evening, we had a cocktail reception.  Forgive me, but I left my camera in my room.  I was so eager to get to the open bar and delicious spread of eats, I just about lost my mind.  Of course, the first person I saw was Creole in DC.  We made our way into the reception and immediately started diving into the kobe beef sliders and other passed goodies.  I decided that since I was baby free for the weekend, I would go back to my roots.  That’s right, no wine for this single and free gal, it was strictly vodka tonics all weekend long!

The next morning, after a sumptuous breakfast buffet, we boarded our buses and headed to Nintendo headquarters.   The first thing we saw was the full on soccer field.  I’m told there was also a basketball court.  And although the outside of the building was non-descript, it was pretty darn fabulous on the inside.

We were ushered into the conference room (which was filled with bad ass white leather couches) where we immediately got to play with the new Nintendo 3DS while we waited for our gracious host, COO Reggie Fils-Aime, to welcome us.  After being greeted, he took some questions from the group and then we were off to experience the new system.  Oh and before he said goodbye, he went all Oprah on us:

You get a Nintendo 3DS! You get a Nintendo 3DS! You get a Nintendo 3DS!

Knowing that I was walking out with my very own system got me crunk.  Suddenly I wasn’t just playing around anymore.  I had to learn about this new system and its features.   I had to decide which game I wanted.  Business!

The Nintendo 3DS is awesome.   Truly outrageous!  It has so many cool features and games.  I won’t go into detail about every single game we got to try out, but I will say that my happy ass came home with Steel Diver, and I am pretty sure I pissed off my seatmate on the plane ride home.  I had to get those submarines, yo!

The other game that I LOVED and wished I had purchased was Asphalt 3D.  I’m usually not even into racing games, but that joint was fun!  And if I had a friend that had the game, we could race each other.

In addition to those games, we learned how to use some of the cool games that come installed on the Nintendo 3DS and we even played a game that hasn’t been released yet.  It’s called Icarus or something like it.  Way cool and I wouldn’t mind having that one too!

The folks at Nintendo HQ were super gracious and I really enjoyed chatting with them and learning about their jobs.  I met guys in testing, call center and licensing.  We had a delicious lunch and even got a few Nintendo bucks to spend in the company store.  Like I said, they took care of us.

In the evening, we had a cocktail hour before heading out to dinner.  I was tempted to skip it and just go to dinner, but I pulled it together and came down anyway.  Honey, I’m so mad I didn’t get their earlier.  A full on SPREAD! Shrimp cocktail, crab claws, chicken skewers, hummus, baklava.  Tons of food and open bar!  I could have stopped there and went right on back to my room.

Fortunately, momma didn’t raise no fool, so I got right on that bus and headed to my group’s restaurant.  We ate at a place called Dahlia Lounge.  We had a private room in the back.  I had a bottomless glass of wine as I enjoyed a wonderful halibut dish.

I had great conversation with my dinner companions, including this handsome gentleman who, I discovered, was a mere 18 years old.  I can’t tell you how much that cracked me the hell up.  Here I thought I was doing it BIG out without the baby, and I was seated next to a high schooler.  Don’t worry, my friend was good natured and allowed me to crack jokes for most of the night.  He was actually quite mature and quite charming.  I see big things in his future.

The next morning at breakfast, the room was all abuzz with everyone whipping out their Nintendo 3DS systems so their Mii characters could meet.  I have 29 Mii in my Mii Plaza, homies!

After breakfast, I bid adiue to my new friends and my old friend, Creole in DC, and left the building.  I had a wonderful time and truly can’t thank my good friends at Nintendo enough.

What did I do next?

*to be continued*

 

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ain’t No Party Like a Nintendo 3DS Party!

  1. Jack says:

    I bought Asphalt and have been going crazy with it. I played it throughout the entire plane ride home. That was great fun and one hell of a trip.

  2. SimplyB says:

    Sounds like you had an awesome time and your hair looks great!!

    Nintendo always goes hard. Kobe beef, Crab claws, and baklava? I may have gone crazy up in there.

    Can’t wait to see what you did next…..

  3. As always MAD jealous!! Why didn’t you let me your plus one!! But glad you had a GREAT time!

Say something

