Mr. Bobby

I called my grandma, the one that lives in a nursing home, to see how she is doing. I knew it had been too long since I last called her, so I wasn’t surprised when the first words out of her mouth were threats to whoop me.
After I finished being scolded and apologizing profusely, I asked how she was doing. She told me about her bad foot, her new aide and her new friend.

“Friend, grandma?”

“Yes, my friend,” she giggled.

I don’t believe I’ve ever heard my 79 year old grandmother giggle before. She proceeded to tell me all about her friend Bobby. They met at church. He came up (and by came up I mean rolled over cause dude is in a wheelchair) to her and told her that he was admiring her. That’s old man speak for “say baby I’m digging your style.”

She explained that he is 70, has five sons just like her and that he ended up in the nursing home because he was run over by a train.

*scratches head*

Grandma and Mr. Bobby have lunch together at the nursing home every day. Every other week, the nurses take the residents to the dollar store for an outing. Today he asked her if she was going and she told him no because her check hadn’t come yet. He told her he had a few dollars and would give it to her so she could go.

I can’t tell you how much that warmed my heart. I actually teared up and even feel touched writing about it. You see, my grandma is old school. She has never worked a day in her life and is accustomed to a man taking care of her. My grandpa has been gone for about 11 years and that was after they had been together for more than 40 years.

Grandma shared with me that she has been praying for “a friend.” I was so surprised. It never occurred to me that my grandma was craving male attention. I assumed that at that age she was done with all that rubbish, but I guess a lonely heart has no limit on age.

It makes me so happy knowing that she is being taken care of. Even if it’s just meeting for cafeteria lunch and getting 8 or 9 dollars so she can go buy socks and cashews. I told grandma I can’t wait to meet him, and she told me more than once that she can’t wait for me to meet him too.

I am thankful that the Lord answered grandma’s prayers and I truly can’t wait to meet Mr. Bobby.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Mr. Bobby

  1. Stephanie says:

    How sweet!!!

  2. cbean says:

    Awww, that is so sweet. Just tell Grandma, no midnight rolls up in her room!!

  3. Petite Pearl says:

    LOL. This is so sweet! If either of my grandma’s have a Mr. Bobby, they haven’t told me about him. LOL

  4. CC says:

    Truly awesome!

  5. discodiva73 says:

    I guess I can hope for love at 80 in a nursing home? Yes! Congrats to Grandma …and SHAME ON YOU! Call that woman more often!

  6. onefromphilly says:

    This made me smile!
    I’m around folks in that age group all the time. ( My parents, uncles and aunts, friend’s parents) You would be surprised how “young” the 70 somethings are. 🙂

    I’m glad that your Grandmom and Mr Bobby found each other.

    • JAMIE says:

      “You would be surprised how “young” the 70 somethings are”- tHE CLOSER i GET TO 70, THE MORE i AGREE WITH THIS STATEMENT

  7. K says:

    After my grandma passed away years ago, my grandpa found a Mrs. Bobby. I’m pretty sure the companionship saved him.

  8. V Renee says:

    This is THEE cutest story! Go Grandma!

  9. heartdrops says:

    Awww! *sniff*

  10. 1969 says:

    That is so sweet. So happy that Grandma and Mr. Bobby found each other.

  11. mzinspiredmind says:

    This post made me tear up! I’m so happy for Mr Bobby and Granma Babs!

  12. sundaze says:

    That warmed my heart. I’m thrilled for your granny.

  13. naturallyk says:

    *tearing up* That is soooo cute!

  14. ames says:

    My father is older than Mr. Bobby. Wow! I’m pretty sure I am a year or so younger than you, with a parent nearly as old as your grandparent. My father still runs the hills of Oakland every morning. My grandmother ran her business until she was 94 years old. My 79 year old aunt is still running multiple businesses and has me suing folks.

    I know too many active 80’s and 90’s and had an 89 year old neighbor who put on her purple nightie and had “company” , so I think 70+ is fairly young.

  15. Yakini says:

    This is so heartwarming! Mr. Bobby sounds like a gem. 😉

    It really does go to show that everyone needs companionship and, even in our older age, there’s still time to enjoy a bit of romance with a “special friend.”

  16. AR Gal says:

    And now for a musical selection………………….

  17. Lisa says:

    Well isn’t that the sweetest story ever. Love this!

  18. dmcmillian72 says:

    *Wiping tears from my eyes* This story made me smile! Thanks for sharing. And it’s great that your Grandmother found the companionship that she prayed for. Gives me hope. But um… Am I the only person who stifled a giggle-snort when she read “…ran over by a train…” And Babs wrote *scratches head* I am soooo NOT -ISH!

  19. CaliSlim says:

    Ooh wee! What a sweet story! I can’t wait to see the Mr. Bobby God sends you and Regan! 😉

  20. Shea says:

    Aw, how sweet! And like dmcmillian72, I had to laugh at the ran over by the train thing. How does that happen? Too much MD 20/20?

  21. Deljah says:

    Awwww, that’s sweet. My grandma is about 84. She’s said she wishes she had a companion.

  22. Theorist says:

    what a sweet story!

  23. t. sheree says:

    I cried a tiny bit. This is THE sweetest story. Thank you for sharing.

    My grandmommy is 79 as well, and she told me recently how lonely she is. I never thought about male companionship…I just thought she wanted *us* to come see her more. LOL…my bad!

  24. Thanks for making me smile extra hard !
    Can’t wait for you to meet him.

  25. GatorGirl says:

    Very nice post! I’m so happy for your grandmother..

Say something

