D@mn the Torpedoes

For the last couple of months, Regan has been dealing with what I like to call “hard poops.”  These aren’t your normal hard poops.  These are the most colossal hard poops I have ever seen.  It is no exaggeration to say that they are about the size of a small baked potato.  She cries, wails even, as she is passing them.  All I can do is hold her and try to soothe her as it passes.  On more than one occasion, I have gone in for an assist, but that only resulted in broken off poop still left inside her.

She never had this problem when she was on breastmilk, so I am certain it’s the cursed formula causing the problem.  Formula is full of iron and that results in hard compacted poop.  It’s gotten to the point where I get nervous if I take her anywhere.  Trust me, you don’t want to hear the screams that come from that little girl’s mouth as she is passing a hard poop.

I’ve been upping her water and even added prune juice and pear juice to her diet to no avail.  Over the weekend, I purchased some suppositories.  I decided I would use them the next time I thought she was ready to poop.  The package said it works in 15-60 minutes so it seemed like a good plan.

Last night, at about 3am, she awoke straining.  I knew she was trying to pass a hard poop.  I jumped up and ran to her bathroom to get the suppositories.  I couldn’t find them.  I looked in my bathroom, on my nightstand and in her bedroom and couldn’t find them.  I ran downstairs and they were nowhere in sight.  Then it hit me.  I had left them in my car.

Picture me, at 3am, in a tank top and booty shorts with a bonnet on my head running through the parking lot in flip flops.  Not cute.  I ran back in the house and ripped open the package.

Regan was laying on her back crying.  The little suppositories were shaped like little glycerine torpedoes.  I inserted one and she stopped crying and looked at me like, “WHAT THE HELL IS THAT?!?”  I scooped her up and she continued to cry very loudly.  I realized we were probably waking my neighbor so we went down and got on the couch to wait for the relief. 

I sat rocking her to the tick tock of the clock and she fell asleep.  I pulled the blanket over us and leaned back.  I felt her straining and knew that the poop had passed.  Relief!

We slept on the couch until about 630.  I took her upstairs to change her diaper and was surprised to see a small bit of hard poop…and the torpedo.  Damn thing didn’t work!

This morning I was on the phone with the pediatrician.  Enough is enough!  I am currently armed with a series of remedies that I shall be using this evening. 

Poop shouldn’t be this difficult.

This entry was posted in Foxy, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to D@mn the Torpedoes

  1. krissy says:

    Formula usually doesn’t cause hard poops. What usually causes them is solid food. I went through this with jasmine who had formula from the day she came home from the hospital. She didn’t start having pooping issues until she started on solids. Bits of meat and things of that nature made it hard for her to go. Some days even now depending on what she eats she’ll pass one of those big ass boulders and she’s been off formula for 5 months now.

  2. K says:

    I am laughing at the damn torpedo coming out whole. You both were robbed.

    I hope the new remedies work for her. Poor gal.

  3. discodiva73 says:

    How things have changed! Babs talking about assisting a poop…Wow.

    Poor Baby…hopefully the new remedies will work.

  4. MrsTDJ says:

    Aww, poor thing. A tablespoon of prune juice, twice a day did the trick for my son. Good luck!

  5. keyalus says:

    I agree with Krissy – could be the food especially if it wasn’t always like that for her. Once Lewis went to a solid diet his poop became more adult-like so to speak. Much easier to clean up so a welcome change IMO! No regular pains for him though so I have no advice to offer.

    I can’t believe we are talking about this. Parents LOL!

    • When I called the Ped they suggested I switch her formula. Plus, she’s been eating solids since December and didn’t have problems then (but was also on breastmilk) so I am led to believe it’s the formula.

      We’ll see because I am switching her formula tonight! If that doesn’t work I don’t know what I’ll do because baby likes her food. She won’t even taken anything that remotely looks pureed. She must feed herself!

  6. ames says:

    I give my kiddies cod liver oil daily and keep those inside lubed up. I get the one with DHA.

  7. Joe Ann Bell says:

    I think you are suppose to insert the suppository before she starts to go so it has time to dissolve before she start to push.

  8. pserendipity says:

    You know that commercial that says “It doesn’t make you go, it makes it less hard for you to go?” That just crossed my mind. Anyway, does the prune juice act as a stool softener, or does it act as a laxative? Or both?

    • Joe Ann Bell says:

      Prune juice works like a latative. Unfortunately for me, my daugther loves to drink it like regular juice. :0

  9. AR Gal says:

    Baby is constipated. Poor thing. 😦 I do agree with Joe Ann in that they should be inserted before she has a bowel movement so that it has time to work it’s magic.

    I remember when my mom would ram those suppositories up my butt when I was younger (4-6) when I experienced constipation\nausea\diarrhea. That was the absolute worst experience ever BUT they worked.

    • Right. That is what I intended to do as well. The last time this happened it was about three hours between painful crying and signs of poop. I thought that’s what was gonna happen last night. I was wrong. 😦

  10. Petite Pearl says:

    Poor baby. I agree the formula in conjunction with a solid diet may be the problem. My son is on the enfamil for gassy/fussy babies because the regular constipates him and gives him a lot of gas.

  11. innerdiva says:

    Iron makes it hard for regular sized people to poop, so I can only imagine what the little one is going through. Maybe you can try a formula without the additional iron? My doc has me on a liquid iron supplement, but I’m not sure if it’s safe for children (although it’s a prenatal supplement). Hope Regan feels better!

  12. Nerd Girl says:

    Poor thing!

    Try laying a warm towel on her lower abdomen, massaging her lower abdomen, and bicycling her legs to help get her going.

    • Bunny says:

      Ditto to this. When my godson was an infant he was severely constipated and the doctor prescribed some type of “Milk of Magnesia” type med. We had to bicycle his legs too and sometimes assist with the poop.
      Hope the remedies work for baby!

  13. dmac says:

    I second everybody else’s suggestions, especially switching her formula. Poor baby.

  14. SimplyB says:

    I’m well aware of the hard poops:(

    I had to switch my girls formula to Gerber Soy. I wasted many a dollar until I found the right one.

  15. t. sheree says:

    Hang in there, mommy and Regan.

  16. nineteen69 says:

    Awww….isn’t motherhood glamorous? LOL

    I would definitely give her more water and watered down juice. Pear and prune is good. Good luck with formula switching!

  17. Deljah says:

    Good luck with that! The glycerin suppositories never worked for us. I hear that are some liquid suppositories or liquid glycerin that is helpful, but I’ve never used that.

    When my daughter was small, giving her apple juice or some water with karo syrup in it worked for a while. It once got so bad that we had to give her an enema. *shudders* She’s 2.5 now and still has issues with constipation. I think it could be b/c she still drinks a good deal of milk, which she loves. I put a tiny bit of miralax in the milk I give her. My doc said that’s okay b/c it passes through the body w/o absorption.

  18. Roshanda says:

    Awww…poor thing. It’s hard to have to watch them go through something like this. I hope that changing the formula works. My son is a few years older than Regan, but like Deljah, his pediatrician suggested that I add a little bit of Miralax to his juice/milk when this happens.

  19. AM says:

    Have you heard of FiberJuice…when my little one was constipated that’s what I used and it worked. I had to order it online though. And make sure she’s getting lots of water. And bananas also work. When she’s straining – massage her belly and fold her legs over to her shoulders. I never “helped” – just couldnt bring myself to do that. Lastly, if formula is your issue, then a soy one usually helps.

Say something

