Cesspool

Daycare is a cesspool.  Baby has had a slight cough for most of the year, then I noticed the cough had cleared up while she was out for spring break.  Well, the cough is back, folks.  And it brought its friends slight fever and runny nose.

This morning I noticed baby was a bit lethargic as I was getting ready.  She just watched me get ready instead of trying to take over the bathroom.  She kept crying and I attribute that to the two teeth that are trying to come in.  I contemplated staying home with her, but I knew I had work to do so I got her ready and took her to daycare.  Much to my chagrin, daycare didn’t want her.  A lowgrade fever and lethargic?  Yeah, take that baby home.  So home is where we are.  We made a pitstop at the office to get my laptop and now baby is nestled on the couch sleeping.

I’m only planning to work for a few hours.  I have an appointment this afternoon that I was already leaving work early for.  Now I’ll just be taking a gooey baby with me.

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cesspool

  1. sayitlikethis says:

    Buddha’s pediatrician said that children who go to daycare get an average of six colds per year. Bummer, I know.

  2. Sha Boogie says:

    Awwww.. poor baby. Daycares of definitely cesspools because most daycares will take sick kids, lol. I hope you can get some work done and that baby feels better. Baby Boogie’s nose has been running since December, I swear! I know the feeling..

  3. keyalus says:

    I know. I know! Babies bring in illnesses, parents bring in illnesses. Our whole family got laid out by a 24-hr bug a parent bought in!

    We just have to learn to deal with it even though it sucks. I don’t know that it will get any better when they go to “real” school. Well, maybe it will since they will have sense enough not to put everything in their mouth then. Oh and they will know to cover their mouth when they cough or sneeze (Lewis doesn’t get this one yet LOL).

    • Nerd Girl says:

      Should I warn you now that it doesn’t?? Lovegirl’s had strep twice this year. Ugh!

      As soon as their systems adjust to one group of children, it’s on to the next class with different kiddos and their bugs.

  4. Petite Pearl says:

    I agree it’s a bummer. I’m at home sick because of something I got from my son. Though studies suggest children that attend daycare miss fewer days of elementary school and have a better immune system than children that are in school for the first time.

  5. ondrea says:

    Another spin on this – my son got a cold every time a tooth came in (fever, runny nose and all). I wonder if that is what’s going on with her. Although, I do agree daycares and schools are swarming with germy kids :-).

  6. kim says:

    My youngest stayed that way and is still like that. The thing is, it wasn’t a cold, it was allergies. Even at 16 she is still dealing with them. She kept a runny nose too and the lowgrade fever. She also developed asthma and a raging case of eczema.

  7. Bunny says:

    Hope baby is doing better and that it’s just teething and nothing more.

Say something

