Transition Tuesday

This weekend I tried something I have never had in my 36 years- cornrows.  Tazzee offered to come over and show me how to do it, but after she arrived she quickly learned I wasn’t going to be able to pull that off, so she just did it for me.

We started with partially dry hair.  I had cowashed with my Original Moxie Intense Quench and then applied a little Everyday Leave In.  Tazzee commented how soft my hair was as she was braiding it.  After she was finished I looked like a Thug Mrs.  I was all set to go out rockin my cornrows until Disco Diva suggested I might get me nice ladyfriend!

I kept the braids in for two days since I had a nice long weekend.  On the second day my scalp started to get a little itchy.  I started to get really annoyed and didn’t think I was going to make it but then I remembered my Original Moxie Scalp Therapy.  I applied it to my scalp and felt instant relief.  It felt cool and almost felt like some sort of menthol.  The smell was amazing and I found myself rubbing my fingers through my scalp and smelling my fingers all evening.  Yes, I know I have issues!

On Monday morning I was eager to take the braids down and see my first official braid out.  Before I did, however,I grabbed a pair of scissors and snipped an inch off of each braid.  I know I should leave the cutting to professionals, but the ends were looking so scraggly (yes, that’s a word) that I just had to do something about it.

In the end, I am glad I did a little bathroom barbershop on my hair.  I think it helped give the braid out some symmetry.  I love that I didn’t have to use rollers and this was not a curly braid out.

All of my precious new growth is definitely susceptible to the heat and humidity.  A day at the zoo had my braid out a little afro-like.  Not complaining, but I definitely was glad I was off so my hair could do “what it do.”

For day two I rebraided my hair, albeit not in a cornrow fashion.  For some odd reason the braids stood straight out and I looked like a shapely coolio.  Again, I didn’t want my hair set in rollers, so I tied it down and went to sleep.

Clearly, something went horribly awry during the night.  There was no way I would be able to go out in public looking like this, so I hopped right back in the shower and washed and conditioned my hair.  Today I am at work with a basic wash and go.  That’s why I should always make sure to try new hair styles on the weekend!

Necessary Legalities: As a participant in the 180 Challenge, Original Moxie has provided me with hair care products in exchange for writing about my experience.  All opinions expressed on this site are my own.

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Transition Tuesday

  1. Sha Boogie says:

    Shapely coolio? BWAHAHHAAA!!! I like the braid out, I just started doing it so I could stretch my hair and do ‘protective styling’ easier.

  2. kim says:

    You look like a teen in your braids! cute! Your hair was cute. Your permed ends are going to drive you crazy! They will muck up a hairdo when you are transitioning. I put rollers on my ends to make them at least curly when i do a twist out or braid out.

  3. Kayla says:

    Nice! That came out good.

  4. t. sheree says:

    I like the braid out, too. I’m glad you’re liking the products. That seems to be the biggest issue for my natural and transitioning amigas.

  5. What Kim said. I suggest adding perm rods to the end of your hair too.

  6. Can someone be taught how to do cornrows? I can’t do them and my mother can. I don’t know anyone that had to “learn” how to do it that can really do them, including my cosmotologist cousin. I just assumed I didn’t pick up that black trait (I KID!) But for real, I can’t cornrow. I can only french braid “in” not “out” I mean I guess a person could be taught anything but as many times as I’ve had my hair cornrowed, plus the fact I’m not that good with my hands, it just never looked like something I could just pick up. Or do one myself without arm cramps. Plus getting cornrows hurts to me so I know I couldn’t do it on myself.

    I grew my relaxer out in college and wore my hair in the set it off braids. There was a robbery reported on campus. The police sketch showed a woman with my hair style. I got jokes. This was when Alicia Keys was still rockin braids, too. But, yeah the “straight backs” might get you a GF in 2011!. I kid.

    In my experiences transitioning in the past (I’m all relaxed now) my relaxed ends didn’t like right if I just plaited it in small braids with no rods. It only looked right twisted (to me anyway). I only did 4 braids, if I braided until I got too much new growth for that to look right.

  7. discodiva73 says:

    You should have worn the braids and tried to get a girlfriend. It wouldn’t hurt.

    Do you think you have a favorite Moxie product? Do you think its good for transitioning hair? What about if you are already natural? Are the products as good?

Say something

