One

Dear Regan:

I can’t believe a year has passed since you came into my life.  365 days have come and gone so fast!

It’s been quite a year.  I’ve had so many sleepless nights I can’t even count.  I’ve gone to bed tired, hungry and exhausted.  I’ve carried you to the doctor countless times.  I’ve lied in bed listening to you breathe just make sure you were okay.  I’ve sucked the snot out of your nose like it was a game and there was a prize at the end.

And that was the easy part.

I still have bruises from the twice daily shots I had to endure while I was pregnant.  My stomach will forever show proof that I carried you.  And my breasts, well, let’s just say that it’s either college for you or plastic surgery for mommy.  But don’t worry, my love, you are worth every single sleepless night and every single stretch mark.

I truly believe that you were heaven sent.  My life had reached rock bottom before you arrived, but then you were here and everything got better.  You have made me better.  I now have a reason to go to work every day.  I have a reason to come home in the evenings.  I want to look better.  I want to do better.  I want to be better.  For you.

You have not only brought me and my mother closer together, but you have been the catalyst to reunite me with my father as well.  And don’t those two people just adore you!  I have never seen two people dote on a grandchild more.

I believe that God has shown you favor.  I know that whatever obstacles I face, I will get through them because they are for the good of my darling daughter.

I am so thrilled at watching you develop into a little girl.  You have so much personality.  Your laugh brings me joy.  I love watching you explore our home.  I love watching you enjoy a delicious meal that I have prepared for you.  I love watching you play in the bathtub even though momma has to keep reminding you to sit on your bottom and not drink the bath water.  You are so funny!

Thank you, Regan, for coming into my life.  Thank you for choosing me as your mommy.  I promise to continue doing the very best that I can.  I promise to work hard to provide for you.  I promise to introduce you to fun and exciting things.  I promise to help you learn and grow by sending you to good schools and always keeping you engaged in fun and educational activities.  I promise to make your life as happy as possible.

After all, you have made my life as happy has possible.

Happy first birthday, my darling daughter.  I love you more than it is possible to love someone.

Love,

Momma

This entry was posted in Foxy, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to One

  1. CreolePeach says:

    So sweet!! Happy Birthday, Regan!!

  2. ondrea says:

    Happy Birthday, Regan :-).

  3. cbean says:

    So sweet!! Both of you are so lucky to have one another.

  4. Lori F says:

    Aww! You’re making me cry!! Happy Birthday Regan!!

  5. CaliSlim says:

    What a lovely tribute. Happy birthday Regan!

  6. Camille says:

    Wow tears came to my eyes. Happy Birthday Ragan. God Bless you sweet angel.

  7. Camille says:

    Wow tears came to my eyes. Happy Birthday Regan!!!!

    God Bless you sweet angel.

  8. innerdiva says:

    Happy Birthday precious girl!

    This is the part that got me right there in the tear ducts: “Thank you for choosing me as your mommy.”

  9. amista says:

    Happy 1st b’day, Regan! Congratulations to you both for reaching this memorable milestone!

  10. heartdrops says:

    *tear*
    Happy Birthday, Princess Foxy!

  11. V Renee says:

    This was super sweet. Happy Birthday Regan!

  12. Shea says:

    Awww! I’m such a punk now. That made me tear up. Very beautiful Babs.

  13. Lisa says:

    Happy Birthday Regan and Babs! Continued blessings to you both.

  14. BK says:

    the flood gates are open.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY REAGAN!!!!

    ^5 to you Babs..

  15. kim says:

    Happy Birthday!

  16. keyalus says:

    It is too early in the morning to be tearing up! I can identify with nearly every one of your feelings. Happy Birthday Regan!

  17. Gladys says:

    Girl! You made me cry! This is beautiful. Print this out, frame it, it’s a keepsake. What a blessing you have, Babs! Happy Birthday, Little Miss Regan!

  18. Beautiful Regan! Happy birthday!!

    Dear Babs:

    Thank you for allowing us to see your gorgeous child develop and grow right before our very eyes. Thanks for being transparent with us and letting us see the good things, and sometimes the not so good things about motherhood. Simply put, thanks fior simply being you. Regan is lucky to have you as a mommy!

    Love, TIH

  19. sundaze says:

    HAPPY 1st BIRTHDAY REGAN!!!

    This post is beautiful. Congrats on emerging from a tough year as a stronger and better person. I know it hasn’t been easy.

  20. Petite Pearl says:

    Happy Birthday Regan!! Your mommy rocks! Enjoy your first birthday party because I know your mommy has planned a huge celebration.

  21. Nerd Girl says:

    Tears for everyone! You got me with this one.

    Happy, happy birthday Regan! Good job Babs!

    Can’t wait to read about the many, many adventures the next year is sure to bring 🙂

  22. SHA says:

    Has it been a year?!?!?! Happy birthday Regan! This was a beautiful letter Babs.

  23. jack says:

    So beautiful!! Happy Birthday Regan!

  24. doahleigh says:

    So great. And so happy for you!

  25. SimplyB says:

    Whew that was a tear jerker.

    Happy 1st birthday Regan!!!

  26. SoniaB says:

    Just beautiful. I’ve never read a more beautiful letter. Thank u for sharing Regan with all of us

  27. AR Gal says:

    This is beautiful.

  28. LisaB says:

    Happy Birthday Regan!

  29. LyNn says:

    Happy Birthday Regan!!! This post had be crying like a baby….it was simply beautiful!

  30. Krissy says:

    That was lovely and very heartfelt. I can tell you’re a good mom. You’ll only eve hear a good mom say their child made them better! I love it. Happy birthday Regan! Enjoy it Babs! You made it a year as a mommy. This 1st celebration is really for you.

  31. mzinspiredmind says:

    Happy born day Regan!

  32. Donnabea says:

    What a lovely and moving tribute. Happy Birthday, Regan AND Babs!! Thank you for sharing “Foxy”/Regan with blogland.

  33. laughing808 says:

    awwwwwwwww!!!

    A very Happy 1st Birthday Regan!

  34. Cyn says:

    Happy Birthday Regan and happy mommy anniversary Babs!!!!

  35. DCarter says:

    Happy Birthday Princess Regan! And job well done Babs! You are a wonderful mother and she’s a lucky pumpkin. 🙂 May God continue to bless and keep you both.

  36. 1969 says:

    Happy Birthday Regan! Enjoy your special day. Congrats to you too Mommy. Love this post!

  37. Gaella says:

    Happy Birthday Regan! What a beautiful post!

  38. What a lovely tribute to a beautiful daughter by a wonderful mother !
    Happy Birthday Regan !
    To the both of you,
    Be Blessed

  39. anya says:

    Beautiful post. Happy Bday Regan!

  40. Deljah says:

    Happy birthday! May God continue to provide for and protect your family!

  41. navygirl36 says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  42. amyg says:

    This is why you can never stop writing! That was amazing! It moved all of us as it will Regan one day! HAPPY BIRTHDAY REGAN!!!!

  43. Exhausted says:

    Happy Birthday Regan!

    I almost never comment but I faithfully read (lurker makes me sound creepy). I have truly enjoyed watching you grow over the internet. Thanks to your mommy for sharing you with all of us.

  44. t. sheree says:

    Soooo touching. Happy Birthday, Regan!! Babs, you both are blessed to have each other. Thank you for sharing.

  45. Dark&Lovely says:

    This is awesome!! *Tears*

    Happy 1st birthday to beautiful little Regan!!

  46. yolanda says:

    Happy belated Birthday Regan. What a beautiful tribute to your baby.

  47. Clu says:

    Happy Belated Birthday Regan!

    This will be so sweet when she is old enough to go back and read this 🙂

  48. naturallyk says:

    Sorry I’m late! Happy Birthday Regan! So happy for you and her! What a year!

  49. Honest says:

    Amazing! Love it.

  50. Solo Cruise says:

    Awww… I’m late…but Happy Birthday Regan!!

  51. Maz says:

    Love it!….Happy 1st Birthday, Regan!

  52. Miss Ali D says:

    Happy Birthday Regan!

  53. Bunny says:

    A little late but Happy 1st Birthday to Foxy baby Regan!!!

  54. Vivrant Thang says:

    I had to come out of lurkdom to say that this post brought tears to my eyes. Regan is truly the luckiest little girl in the world to be loved like this. I can’t wait until she is able to read and understand this. I know she will treasure it always.

    Happy (Belated) Birthday Beautiful!

    PS I can’t wait to read the upcoming post in your natural hair series 🙂 I’m going to have to come back outta lurkdom for that one too!

Say something

