Summer in the City

This morning baby and I headed alllll the way into the city to meet my mommy friend for some time in the park.  It seems kinda ridiculous to drive 20 miles into the city and have to deal with parking when I have parks near me and a farmer’s market around the corner, but there really is nothing like Piedmont Park on a Saturday morning.

We started at the farmer’s market where we picked up fresh peaches and freshly milled wheat bread.  The bread was melt in your mouth fresh and I knew it would be perfect for PB&J sammies.  Yes, baby got the clearance to try peanut butter.  Viva la easy lunch!

The market was hopping and we even saw an actress from my favorite television show.  Regan and I shared a smoothie and she was greeted by Doctor Broccoli.  I’m not really sure why he was there, but dudes walking around in veggie costumes are free entertainment so I just smiled and snapped his pic.

After the farmer’s market we walked through the park (sidebar: twitter is ruining me because I really just typed “thru”).  We ended up at the fountains.  When I saw it I immediately wished I had dressed baby in her swimsuit.  That chick loves water like nobody’s business.  Oh well, we had no where to go but home so I didn’t mind if we got a little wet.  Thankfully nothing more than the edges of our skirts were wet and it was so hot we were nearly dry within the hour.

We played in the water for a bit and then sat on the bench for some rest.  Apparently, I was the only one who wanted to rest because Regan pulled away from me and did her spider man crawl right back over to the water.  I can see I’m going to have to get her back there very soon!

After the park we made the trek back towards our car.  As we were walking we approached a very handsome goodlooking tossing a football.  He looked familiar to me but I couldn’t remember his name.  He looked my way and I was sure we must have dated.  I kept walking towards him trying to remember the name of this guy that I must have dated when my girlfriend’s husband said, “hey isn’t that Apollo, Phaedra’s husband?”  Doh!  I knew that dude looked familiar.  I am clearly watching too much reality tv.

We kept walking and looked back and peeped Phaedra talking to someone.  She was surrounded by cameras so I guess we should prepare for another season.

By the time we made it back to the car I was drenched with sweat, baby was asleep and my dogs were barking.  I can’t wait to do it again!

This entry was posted in Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer in the City

  1. discodiva73 says:

    Sounds like a fun way to spend a Saturday morning!

  2. Serenity23 says:

    Regan’s outfit is cute! I’m laughing out loud at you thinking you must have dated him.

  3. I love the shades on both of ya’ll!
    I see that your girls are out and on full summertime display. *raised eyebrow* ARE YOU CHEATING ON ME???????

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    Sounds like a great day! I cannot even begin to imagine the dramedy that would’ve ensued had you approached Apollo with “don’t I know you?” Phaedra would’ve been making up all kinds of new words next season on RHOA! LOL!

  5. BK says:

    I look forward to these excursions when Princess J arrives. Regan looks so happy in the water!! LOL at you thinking you dated him 🙂

Say something

