Transition Tuesdays

Having long hair allows one to switch up their style with ease.  Ponytails, straight hair, curls, headband, updo, etc.  The sky is the limit when your hair touches your shoulders.  But short hair?  Short hair is different.  And when we’re talking about a teeny (or midsized) afro, that another story altogether.

Accessory Free

Most days, I am perfectly content to rock my TWA without any accessories.  As long as my makeup game is tight and my earrings are big, I am perfectly comfortable.  Other days, I feel like I need to jazz up my look with some type of adornment.

Hair Dressed Up

Here is a look at a few of the looks I have sported during my first week of TWA:

Hair Clip

Flowered Headband

Secure Fit Headband

I actually had no idea where to purchase headbands and clips.  My coworker suggested I head to Claire’s Boutique at the mall.  I felt like I stepped back into 1988 when I entered the store, but was happy to see that they had a whole wall of hair accessories. I’ve found things at Target and Wally World.   I also picked up that cute silver hair clip at Kohl’s.  I am constantly on the prowl for cute hair gear and earrings!

How do you switch up your look with short hair?  Do you (or did you) wear accessories in your TWA?  Where did you find pieces to jazz up your look?

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Transition Tuesdays

  1. nylse says:

    i hate being the first to comment…but anyhow…i think your hair looks beautiful without the accesories. i’m not a big fan of hair accessories, i’d rather accessorize my outfits. i dont even think you need to do extra in terms of hair and makeup when your hair is short…if you’re beautiful, you’re beautiful!!! and you are!

  2. Ayana says:

    I make my hair accessories. 😉

  3. justJENN says:

    That second pic is so cute! Love all of them!

  4. Petite Pearl says:

    I recommend Charming Charlie’s for more hair accessories. They have everything you can imagine. Love the short hairstyle!!

  5. BK says:

    I usually did just a wash & go or I wore coils/ coil outs my favorite accessory when my hair was short was my brush!!!

  6. onefromphilly says:

    I also go to Claire’s in the Mall when I want hair accessories. The stores are crazy crowded but full of all kinds of cute things for the hair. I like hair adornments. I get tired of just wearing my locs down.

    I really like your hair short. It’s so cute 🙂

  7. innerdiva says:

    I haven’t added any accessories yet…I feel like my hair is still too short. My hairdresser and my husband keep telling me I need to wear bigger earrings, but I’m scared!

  8. K says:

    I am just so loving your hair. It looks great and seems to fit your personality.

    And! I never thought about Claire’s! I seem to have exhausted what Target has to offer, but now I”m EXCITED to hit up Claire’s. I love me a headband.

  9. St. Louis says:

    I don’t wear hair accessories. I invested in earrings and makeup.

  10. Clu says:

    Earrings and keeping up on my eyebrow maintenance was key. I don’t do make-up

  11. dmcmillian72 says:

    I will be wearing bigger earrings. I already have those snug fit headbacks (the’re my go to with shoulder length hair when it’s not acting right). I guess I’ll need to start pulling out the mascasra and lip gloss, too. I’m with innerdiva… I’m scared!

  12. Deljah says:

    When my hair was twa length, I never wore hair accessories. My makeup has always been hit or miss. I tend to wear the same earrings over and over. I started wearing headbands when my hair got some length on it and could be pushed back/up into a puff.

  13. Jameil says:

    Target was def. my BFF! And Wally. Your hair looks great!

  14. Teralyn says:

    I think your hair looks cute with or without. and that just gel seems cool too.

    my hair is almost touching my shoulders so i guess i am almost golden lol

    i like wearing flowers in my hair but dont often. our dollar tree has a lot of great hair stuff

    cograts on being featured! yay #commenthour!

  15. Bunny says:

    I get all my hair accessories from the beauty supply store. We have one on just about every corner here in Chicago. You can’t go wrong with a fabric headband for a dollar. I want one of those cute ones you have too 😉

  16. Shay says:

    No one ever talks about how many nice headbands you can find for the cheap at Dollar Tree. Please don’t sleep on Dollar Tree. I get all my headbands from there, and I’m in Jackson, Mississippi. So I know if they got nice headbands HERE, they gotta have in all the other states. I just bought a pack of 8 headbands of every color (and I mean every color) of the rainbow, all for a dollor. And they fit more snug than the name brand ones I got from wally world (walmart). And they got some nice flower headbands too. And they don’t look cheap.

Say something

