Have a Crappy Day

There are several security guards that work at baby’s school.  Although I don’t know any of their names, I always speak to them as I am coming and going.  Good morning, have a nice day and all of that.  I speak to them, and they speak to me.  It’s what normal, socialized people do.  Except for one.

There is this one security guard that I cannot stand.  For months I would come in every morning and greet him.  He would grumble something that sounded like “morning” or not say anything at all but just give me a half smile and head nod.  As I would leave, I would say “have a nice day!” and each and every time he would respond, “mm hmm.”  No thank you or same to you or you do the same.  Not even a getthehelloutofherewithallofyourhellosandgoodbyes.

Just “mm hmm.”

So I decided I was no longer going to tell him to have a nice day.  I began walking right past him without so much as a glance.  I pretended he wasn’t there.  The other security guards would get a friendly goodbye.  He got nothing.  This went on for the last couple of months.

Today, I was in a particularly good mood and clearly got caught up in my own happiness.  As I was walking out I decided to extend my friendly vibes his way.  Really, I shouldn’t have wasted them on him because as soon as I said, “have a nice day!” he came back with “mm hmm.”

Jerk!  I am done.  Not only am I never telling him to have a nice day again, but I am no longer even going to greet him.  I don’t care if he has a nice day.  In fact I hope he has a crappy day.  I hope all of his days are crappy.  I hope his chair breaks and he has to stand.  I hope the automatic lock on the door breaks and he has to get up to let every single parent in.  I hope his car breaks and he has to take the bus to work.  I hope the microwave breaks and he has to eat cold, sodium-laden ravioli out of a can.  And then I hope he cuts his hand on the jagged edges of the can.

Have a crappy day, Mr. Security Guard.  Have a crappy day!

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have a Crappy Day

  1. Steph says:

    LOL- Don’t let him take away your shine! You keep greeting him because happiness is in your heart, its the right thing to do, and he probably thinks his days are already crappy enough. Next time, call him out on his nastiness and say something like, “If you’re gonna be at this door protecting my baby, I’m gonna need you to be a little happier about it! You’re too handsome to not have a smile on that face!” Say it no matter how unattractive he is and how stank his attitude is. I bet you’ll get smiles from then on.

  2. discodiva73 says:

    I usually speak to coworkers as well…since we are commited to 40+ hours a week. One day at some event, I said hello to someone…and he uttered the words, “Do I know you?”. Our office only has 200 people…everyone knows everyone….so he was just being rude. Why on earth are you being rude at work? I vowed then to NEVER speak to him again. So far, so good.

  3. ames says:

    Does he speak to others? Maybe he is friends/gf/spouse of the daycare woman you don’t like.

    I recall your post about an overly cheery security guard that you wanted to complain about. Is this the same person who is now ignoring you?

    • Funny. Guy at work is short, annoying black guy. Everyone complains about him. When I comment about him on FB, my work associates reply because they exactly what I mean.

      Dude at daycare is creey, tall white guy. He’s definitely not dating anyone at this particular daycare. I doubt he is even married. Unless she is creepy too.

  4. Serenity23 says:

    Ames took the comment out of my mouth! I remember all too well the security guard who was friendly to you and you got mad and reported him or wanted to report him. You can’t have it both ways!

  5. More than anything…this tickled the shit out of me!!! I love it when you get ranty!! LOL!!

  6. Sha Boogie says:

    LOL! That sounds like the security guard in my building. Several of my co-workers stopped speaking to him because of that, but I still say “good morning” and keep it stepping. I feel bad ignoring him O_o

  7. Chasing Joy says:

    LOL.. This is funny! Stopping by from #commenthour

  8. Barista says:

    LMAO! One of my favorite posts. And I’d do the same thing.

Say something

