Kismet

I spend a lot of time lamenting certain decisions in my life and questioning the different paths I’ve taken.  Then sometimes things happen and I feel like God/the Universe/They are trying to tell me that things are going according to plan.  It’s one of the reasons I asked about deja vu last week.  Someone once told me that when you have deja vu you know you are right where you are supposed to be.

Another thing that happens to me is kinda weird and may not even be that big of a deal, but it gives me pause whenever it happens.  Say for instance I am reading a book and the word “quarantine” comes up, at the exact same time that I am reading that word, someone on the television will say it.  And I don’t mean common words like “hello” or “Atlanta.”  It’s almost always a unique word.  That always freaks me out.

Let me give you a couple of other instances of things that have given me pause:

When I was in New York for Mother’s Day, we stopped at a park so baby could ride on the swings.  A couple was there pushing their baby and started making small talk.  She asked how old Regan was and I told her.  Her baby was the same age.  She asked her birthday and our daughters had the same birthday.  I asked her what time her daughter was born and she said 1:29PM.  Regan was born at 1:27PM.  A seriously weird coincidence, no?

Babies born two minutes apart

Today I was out of town doing a site visit for an event.  The sales manager and I were making small talk about where we lived and stuff like that.  When I told her what exit I lived off of, she said she used to live off the same exit in the early 90s.  I told her what road I lived off of.  She said she used to live off the same road.  I asked her what the name of her subdivision was called.  She said she couldn’t remember but she could remember the address and it was “214 Oak Drive”.  My mouth nearly hit the floor.  I live at 210 Oak Drive.  What are the odds that she used to live two doors down from my unit 20 years ago.  How weird that we would meet today and be put in a situation that we would have time to kill and make small talk about where we lived?  Had my companions not been late, we would have never had that conversation.

Anyway, I said all of this to say that weird things happen to me and I don’t really know what to make of it.  Does any of this sound weird to you or am I making a big deal out of minor things?

Do you ever have situations like these?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kismet

  1. I meant to post this last week when you asked about Deja Vu but did not get around to it. I used to experience Deja Vu alot more when I was younger, especially in my 20’s. My Great-Grandmother told me this about Deja Vu;”Before you came here, God showed you your whole life from beginning to end. When you experience Deja Vu it’s you remembering some of what He has already showed you.” With that in mind, based on what you said, it most definitely would be Him telling you that things are as they should be & you are on the right path. This makes perfect sense to me.

  2. Shari says:

    When I’m in situations like that to me it reinforces the idea that there are no coincidences and that everything happens for a reason… I may not know why yet but one day I’ll figure it out

  3. For me personally, I wouldn’t read too much into any of that. My decisions are based on scripture and prayer, and when I need direction, the Bible is full of advice for each situation we may confront in our daily living. It’s doesn’t speak to deja vu, psychics, kismet or any of that really. I think a lot of people get impatient or desperate, so they seek to find validation in any way that they can.

    Sorry to get preachy in the comments.

  4. Sha Boogie says:

    When things like that happen to me I take it to mean that I’m right where I’m supposed to be in life.

  5. Ames says:

    Some people say there are no coincidences. Was some purpose served? If the meetings sent a confirmation to you, that you are living in the correct place and were meant to have your child when you did, then it has a purpose. If it was just a crazy similarity and served no purpose other than a wow, then I vote, stuff happens.

    I don’t think things in my life happen by accident or coincidence. I believe life is a journey, the journey includes battles of good and evil. I think stuff occurs to direct me to a particular path and things occur to knock me off my path. I have to make choices to end at the place I need to get.

  6. naturallyk says:

    Stuff like this happens to me a lot. I don’t think its a big deal but its just a reminder that we’re all connected.

  7. Jameil says:

    Those are definitely weird… and kind of cool! I don’t ordinarily read anything into them, I just get mildly creeped out or amused and move on.

  8. K says:

    It’s just always a reminder to me that this world can be so very small.

  9. Solo Cruise says:

    These things happen to me too and I always feel the same. I work with the woman my parents purchased a home from when I was 12. I just happened to remember her name and I asked her about it to confirm it was her. I suppose, like naturallyk said, we’re all connected in some way.

Say something

