Ridin’ like a Benzo

As many of you know, I have been through many trials and tribulations with my sturdy, German engineered vehicle.  I’ve gotten to the point where I am putting as little money into it as possible.  Last week, however, the Babs Mobile required a little TLC.

First, I was alerted to the need for tires.  It had been on the back of my mind for a few weeks, but when random dude referred to my tires as “maypops” I literally went to the tire place the very next morning.

A few days later, actually it might have even been the very next day, my door handle broke.  I think it was a spring or some other sort of mechanism.  So picture me crawling in and out of my car through the passenger side.  Not cute and NOT funny.

Note: Disco Diva acutally thought it was hysterical and couldn’t quite control her laughter upon seeing me slide in and out of the car.

So a few days after getting new tires, I had to get some more work done.  Booo!  But I am thankful for the ability to keep my ride safe and secure for me and that baby.

This weekend I took my car in for a wash.  I can tell you it hasn’t seen soapy water since February. Long overdue and if I went anywhere besides home and work I might actually care.

The car wash people took one look at my seats and suggested I get my seats cleaned and polished.  I said no, but then considered the crusty, dried milk all over the back seat and decided to go ahead and do it.

I’m so glad I did.  My seats looked great!  I could almost see my reflection in those mamma jammas.  The outside looks great too!  I tell you what, my car might have some bruises and scratches, but today it sure is looking fine.  You wouldn’t know it was a twelve year old car.  It kinda makes me feel bad for only washing it twice a year.

How often do you get your car washed inside and out?  Do you do it yourself or do you leave it to the professionals?

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ridin’ like a Benzo

  1. Krissy says:

    Umm I rarely wash my car. I need to do better about that tho. I think I get mine washed by professionals twice a year. I really love how Silvey(formally known as Keisha) looks when she’s clean.

  2. t. sheree says:

    I wash and clean my car (inside and out) almost weekly. I do it myself…burns calories and I know I’ll do a great job. I went to a couple of full-service places and found new scratches on my trunk and my tinted windows days later. I’m cool doing it myself…until I get a man. 😉

  3. Shari says:

    Here in Germany you’re not allowed to wash your car like we would in the states, at home with a hose but there also aren’t any of those quick carwash spots … so I’m stuck with the drive-thru type hence why I rarely wash my car… plus it rains so often here that I like to think of it as God’s carwash… lol

  4. Steph says:

    I used to wash my car myself every week when I lived with my parents because they have a big driveway, and my dad is all about having a clean ride. Since I moved out, I have my car washed once a year. I plan to do better… Maybe I’ll take it to Cactus tomorrow?

  5. mzinspiredmind says:

    I vaccum it out every week and get it washed every other week. I take it thru one of the car washes that does it ALL for $10. I used to be really bad about keeping it washed and all but I got a pretty sweet ride so when it’s all cleaned up, I feel like new money! lol

  6. amyg says:

    WOWSAS. I remember the night you got that car! I cannot believe that was 12 years ago. OK, maybe I can 🙂

  7. BK says:

    When my car was newer I did it weekly through the car wash & gas station and then bi weekly through the fancy car wash where they detailed inside & out. Over the last 2 years it was pretty much whenever it got to be so dang filthy that even the air freshner didn’t do it’s job.. *sigh* the result of having kids who are always on the go and never being in the same state for more than 8 hours on a weekend. Now.. hubby or my son washes it every other week.. the inside well that’s another story..

  8. naturallyk says:

    I get my car cleaned inside and out about 3 times a year but I go to the cheap gas station washer about once a month or so.

  9. najalimu says:

    Funny you should post this. I just got to that “I can’t take it anymore” level with bumbleberry being unclean! I took her to the wash yesterday and scheduled to have it washed every three weeks. It’s part of my get organized/start sticking to a schedule plan. We’ll see how it goes. Fingers crossed 🙂

  10. K says:

    In the winter I will do it more often because of the salt and slush that gets inside and out. Less often in the summer.

    And, yeah, I leave it to the professionals.

Say something

