Good Eats

I got down in the kitchen last night.  We’ve been eating out so much and I really wanted to just stay in, so I decided to whip up something for the family.  I decided on a recipe I saw over at Jessica’s blog– Bourbon Chicken.

It was yum!  Fairly easy to make and I had almost all of the ingredients right in my cabinet.

The family loved it and everyone had seconds. I served it with salad.

The next time I make it I think I’ll add some green or white onions.  Onions make everything better.

Bourbon Chicken

2 lbs boneless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
• 1 -2 tablespoon olive oil
• 1 garlic clove, crushed
• 1/4 teaspoon ginger
• 3/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
• 1/4 cup apple juice
• 1/3 cup light brown sugar
• 2 tablespoons ketchup
• 1 tablespoon cider vinegar
• 1/2 cup water
• 1/3 cup soy sauce

DIRECTIONS
1.) Heat oil in a large skillet.
2.) Add chicken pieces and cook until lightly browned.
3.) Remove chicken.
4.) Add remaining ingredients, heating over medium heat until well mixed and dissolved.
5.) Add chicken and bring to a hard boil.
6.) Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.
7.) Serve over hot rice  
8.) ENJOY!

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good Eats

  1. K. Rock says:

    Looks good. And easy.

  2. InnerDiva says:

    I’ve been meaning to make it since I saw it on her blog…but I’ve never made chicken that wasn’t soy before. Is it really easy, or do you think it’s something I’ll mess up?

  3. dmcmillian72 says:

    I think I’m going to try this for Sunday dinner. I’m adding brocoli to this as well as serve it with a salad. Can’t have too many vegetables, right? Thanks, Babs!

  4. SimplyB says:

    I am so making thing Saturday night!

    Thanks Babs.

  5. discodiva73 says:

    This looks so good! Maybe I will make it this weekend…although I don’t have most of the ingredients! #reallyneedtocookmore

Say something

