My Heart is Warm

My dad and sister left this morning after staying for an entire week (stepmom left Friday).  Midway through their stay I thought I’d be ready for them to go, but I was actually really sad as the car pulled off.  I told my dad they could stay as long as they wanted.  I would permanently sack out on the air mattress in baby’s room, but he just laughed and told me they had to get back for work and school.

Me and Dad

I enjoyed them so much and had such an awesome week.  And not just because he bought me a new television or because he bought Regan new shoes.  I really just enjoyed having family around.  I loved coming home at the end of each day to a room full of smiles and happy faces.  No drama, no unhappiness, no surprises.  Just people genuinely happy to see me and happy to spend time with me.  I totally understand how grown children can live at home.

I also loved getting a break from baby duty all week.  I didn’t have to get up early and get her ready to go to school every day.  I didn’t have to bathe her or make sure she had clean clothes.  They took care of everything.  She was in good hands and is, as I expected, now completely spoiled.  She stayed up under my dad.  And she loved my sister and stepmom too.  I guess she hadn’t forgotten them from our last visit home in June.

Chilling with Granddaddy

We had a busy week.  We spent a couple of evenings looking for the right stand for the television.  We spent an evening buying school clothes for my sister.  We hung out watching movies.  And on Saturday we were in full on tourist mode.

On top of Stone Mountain

We started out at the MLK center and ended at Stone Mountain Park.  I scored us some dirt cheap season passes so now we can go everytime they are here.  I had never been to the attractions side of the park and couldn’t believe all the fun stuff there was to do.  Baby and I will be back soon!

We spent our last night putting in some work.  I had a ton of stuff in my storage unit that my dad thought I should get rid of, so we made a couple of trips to the dumpster and organized my storage unit.  It is going to make my life so much easier when it’s time to pull out the Christmas decorations or when I move.

As you can see, the week was jam packed with activities.  I’m guessing they are all probably happy to be back home sleeping in their own beds and getting back into their own routines, but before they made it to Tennessee, daddy called me to tell me what a good time they had and to tell me he loved me.

I wonder if my dad would let me move into his basement so we can keep the party going nonstop?

This entry was posted in Family, Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to My Heart is Warm

  1. Kim says:

    You look just like your daddy!

  2. discodiva73 says:

    I just posted an awesome comment about your relationship with your dad. And its missing. So now you will never see it! Just know it was awesome.

  3. Nerd Girl says:

    Aw, I’m so glad you all had a great time together. Family is where it’s at! And what Kim said – twins!

  4. Seriously, ya’ll are twins. And it warms my heart to see your relationship with your dad getting stronger and stronger. This is a truly a blessing!

  5. Clu says:

    That second picture of Regan and you Dad is sooo frickin adorable. Baby looks sooo happy! My heart is all warm and stuff 🙂

  6. keyalus says:

    Sheesh you look just like your Dad. Y’all have different noses but the rest is a carbon copy!

    My parents are coming this weekend and I’m so excited. They don’t get to see Lewis nearly often enough and I want them to have a close relationship.

  7. akima says:

    You and your dad look a LOT alike. It’s really heartwarming to see how close you guys are! Family is the best-est!! 🙂

  8. missalid says:

    You and your dad look so much alike!! So happy you guys have become so close.

  9. Kena says:

    It looks like you all had a great time. Family is so important. If you had not told us that was your father in the pic, I surely would have guessed it. You and your father look so much alike.

  10. GatorGirl says:

    Your daddy is so handsome!!

  11. Gladys says:

    You are your dad’s twin in female form! It warms my heart whenever you write about your family. Foxy is a lucky girl to have awesome grandparents in the form of your parents. 🙂

  12. naturallyk says:

    Aw! What a wonderful visit! Its so nice that your relationship with your dad has completely changed. I remember last summer when you were saying you would never let him meet Regan. He’s been such a blessing in your lives. I’m so happy for you!

  13. Delonda says:

    I have to say that your daughter looks just like your dad to me, same nose, and same color. Beautiful family, I’m glad you enjoyed your family!

    Blessings!

  14. krissy says:

    Aww this is great! Family time is always awesome. I get some every weekend. I’m sure its jas’s fav part of the week too.

  15. Jameil says:

    OMG how cute is she w/her granddaddy??? SO CUTE!! Love it! I get to see my family over the next week, too and I’m very excited! 🙂

Say something

