Transition Tuesday

This weekend, after washing, conditioning and detangling my hair, I was thrilled to see that my hair has grown enough to actually pull it into a ponytail.  I know I couldn’t do that at the beginning of June, so I am quite proud of my locks.

After realizing how much growth I have, I decided that maybe I was ready to give a twist out a try.  Using my Original Moxie Lux Locks, I began the process of twisting my hair.  I loved how the twists stayed in place, as opposed to when I was transitioning and my relaxed ends would come unraveled.  What I didn’t love was the 40 minutes I spent standing in the bathroom twisting my hair.  I haven’t spent that much time on my hair since before Memorial Day!

I slept with a satin cap on and the next morning I was ready to see my first twist out.

As you can see, it wasn’t the least bit cute.  First, it was a little frizzy.  That is probably because I manipulated the twists too much.  Instead of taking them down and not touching them, I found myself running my fingers through them.  I couldn’t help it, my hair was so soft!  The other problem is that is was super short.  My lovely twists had shrunk as they dried.

My hair did feel great though, and I noticed that the definition was great for the most part.  I think that if my hair were a few inches longer the twist out would look great.

After deciding that the twist out was a fail, I contemplated wearing some sort of headband.  I played in the mirror and think I looked presentable, but then I decided presentable wasn’t good enough so I hopped right back in the shower and rinsed my hair.  I still had some definition from the twist out, so I added a little Just Gel and started my day with my trusty Wash and Go.

 

Necessary Legalities: As a participant in the 180 Challenge, Original Moxie has provided me with hair care products in exchange for writing about my experience.  All opinions expressed on this site are my own.

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Transition Tuesday

  1. sundaze says:

    LOL @ that face. I really like the twistout and don’t think it looks super short at all. I think you just need to tweak your product combo and not manipulate so much to minimize frizz and maximize definition.

  2. kim says:

    Do your twists when your hair is completely saturated or right after co washing or washing it. Don’t even blot it dry! They will turn out very defined! If you air dry, give your hair enough time to dry. Great progress!

  3. Try making your twists a bit smaller. The smaller size will allow you to manipulate your hair a little more. Once you’ve separated your twists, KEEP YOUR HANDS OUT OF YOUR HEAD! Lol.

  4. doahleigh says:

    Ha! That face – so great. I know nothing about this, so that’s all I can contribute.

Say something

