Brat

There is a brat in this house and she’s 37 years old.  All this time I spend dealing with Regan’s tantrums and it’s my mother that should be dealing with me.

On Sunday evening she asked me if I wanted to do her workout video the next morning.  I immediately said no and told her I hated workout videos.  She told me it would be fun if we did it together and asked if I would again.  I told her no.

The next morning I was sitting in the quiet of the house before it started to stir and I had a thought so clear in my head:

Babs, why would you tell your mother you won’t do the workout video with her?  She asked you to and she rarely asks you for anything.  She does everything for you and asks for nothing in return.

I actually felt guilty for telling her no.  I couldn’t give my mom 30 minutes of my time to make her happy?  How selfish am I?

So when she woke up I apologized and told her I would do the workout dvd with her.  I also apologized for telling her no in the first place and told her that I felt bad about it.  She told me I didn’t need to feel bad and was happy I would work out with her.

After we did the workout, I felt good.  Not only had I gotten some much needed exercise, but I got my mom motivated to do it too.  I even got up and did it this morning with her as well.

I still hate workout videos, but I will gladly do them if it makes my mom happy.

 

This entry was posted in Family, Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brat

  1. K says:

    You’re a good daughter.

  2. Ayana says:

    Awww, I am pretty spoiled with my mom, too. She is so understanding and gives me whatever I want and loves me no matter how bratty I am.

  3. naturallyk says:

    That’s really sweet! You’re not a brat. Maybe spoiled though…. 😉

  4. trininista says:

    I am glad you changed your mind. Mums just don’t want to feel left out as their babies get older. She just wanted some mummy-daughter time! good for you on being a fab kid in the end!

  5. CC says:

    And that is when you know you are a certified grown up; when you analyze the situation, apologize and make it right. You go, Girl! 🙂

  6. It took you 37 years to figure this out? 😛

    Wuv you! 😆

  7. missmajestic says:

    shiiiiiiiiiid I wish I could get my mom to workout with me. she’s always asking me to do the latest fad diet with her.

  8. t. sheree says:

    Sweet. 🙂

  9. Roses Daughter says:

    Awwww. I love making my mommy happy too. Even when I don’t want to.

  10. discodiva73 says:

    Very nice, Babs! I think its the Mom in you coming out. I think you may have thought about if R did the same thing to you and how you would feel…and now you are realizing how you make your mom feel sometimes. I know your Mom loves you very much and she probably loved you coming in to not only apologize…but to do it with you!

Say something

