Have You Seen Her?

I’m wearing jeans today in a non-jeans wearing environment.  That is just one manifestation of the fact that I have seem to lost my giveadamn.

I’m not certain of exactly when I lost my giveadamn, but it was sometime around midsummer.  I blame the ridiculously hot weather.  One day I woke up and decided I wasn’t wearing makeup.  Not that day. Or the next. Or the next.  It’s been weeks since I’ve pulled out any foundation, eyeshadow or eyeliner.  For a while I was at least wearing a little powder and mascara.  Then I quit even doing that.

And you know those cute dresses and heels I was wearing all spring and early summer?  They’ve been replaced with pants and flats.  I don’t even want to think about putting on a pair of spanx!

The loss of my giveadamn is not only affecting my appearance, but my punctuality as well.  I used to get to work about 15 minutes early every day.  Now I am usually 15 minutes late.  When I was on vacation I was up before 6am every day.  Now I struggle to get up before 7am.  And, yes, I have to be at work at 8am. 

When I returned from vacation my alarm clock was flashing.  It’s still flashing.  I haven’t even bothered to set the clock, let alone the alarm.

This weekend I am determined to find my giveadamn no matter what.  I have some important meetings next week and I need to look presentable and kinda cute.  I will reassess my makeup and fall clothes.  I will get a pedicure.  I will detangle my hair.  I will set my alarm clock and be on time every single day.

If you know where I can find my giveadamn, do let me know as soon as possible.  It’s a dire situation.

Have you ever lost your giveadamn?

 

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Have You Seen Her?

  1. CreolePeach says:

    I don’t know if I’m completely lost it, but what I wear to work was definitely affected when I was in the dang air cast earlier this year for all those months. Now what’s more important to me than anything is being comfortable. I term it comfortably cute. I’m not wearing form fitted nothing to work. I try to stay close to the ground with shoe heel length. I just don’t do all that extra anymore. I’m still punctual but my days of staying late are limited now too.

  2. St. Louis says:

    Yes. Like you, I lost it because of the hot weather. Minimal makeup. Capri pants. Khaki Pants. White cotton t-shirts. Ballet flats…every. single. day. Too hot for real clothes! I had my “that’s enough” moment when I met my retired mother and her equally retired friend after work. They were both more pulled together than I am. They both proceeded to let me know that I looked a mess. We went to a museum where there was an outdoor concert. There were single men everywhere. I couldn’t even flirt because…I had on clown pants (big and short) and a smedium t-shirt. I was mortified.

  3. K says:

    My mornings are nuts, so I have to FORCE myself to pick out my clothes the night before when I actually somewhat care and am not running late or trying to shove clothes on someone else.

    I am also trying to care more about my hair, but it’s a struggle as that is also time related. A neat bun is just easier than a blow-out each day.

    I am hoping the cooler weather helps me get my act together a bit more. Emphasis placed on “hoping”–I guarantee nothing.

  4. t. sheree says:

    I kinda lost it this summer, too. Flats and the like…and I generally don’t consider flats shoes. *sigh*

    I think I have it back. The fall always puts a little extra spring back into my step. Tis my favorite season!

  5. Roses Daughter says:

    I lost mine sometime Tuesday night, and haven’t found it. I haven’t even looked for it.

  6. AR Gal says:

    Have I? Bwahahahahahahaha! Been there. Done that. Might do it again.

  7. kena says:

    I think your giveadamn is right here with me. I get in funks all the time. When I don’t feel like doing anything….I don’t. I don’t do anything until I feel like doing something again. And when I do, I am inspired to do better than before. I am sure the same will happen to you.

  8. Ondrea says:

    Lost mine, too and don’t really giveadamn where it is right now.

  9. Clu says:

    I have no idea where mine is. She has been gone a long time…I don’t know what will make her come back.

Say something

