Sweet Tea and Milkshakes

I’ve taken on the “Whatever it Takes” method of parenting as of late.  It’s been a rough week.  Rough.  Baby has her very first ear infection.  Did I already tell you that?  I can’t even remember.  That’s what kind of week it’s been.

Anyway, she was given antibiotics to take, as well as children’s motrin or advil or something.  The first day, she didn’t know any better so she took both with ease.  One day two she was somewhat resistant.  By day three there was pink, grape-flavored amoxicillan running down the walls.  Baby wasn’t having it.

I spent two and half days at home with her.  I’m exhausted from the incessant screaming and crying.  I couldn’t tell if it was her wanting her pacifier or being in pain.  I just knew that it had to stop.

Tonight, on the way home from work, I stopped at CFA and picked up some soup, sweet tea and a peppermint milkshake.  All of it was for her.

I put the motrin in the sweet tea.  Mmmm she said.  We tried the soup but she just wanted the crackers.  Then I put the pink meds in the pink milkshake.  The strong flavor of the peppermint masked the meds.  She ate about a quarter cup before she had enough, but she got those antibiotics in her.

I wouldn’t normally let baby have sweet tea or milkshake, but depserate times called for desperate measures.  Hell, I’m so frazzled right now I would have made a simple syrup and put a straw in it if it meant baby would feel better.

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sweet Tea and Milkshakes

  1. nylse says:

    you have to put the medicine in the dropper, and stick the dropper all the way in the back of her mouth and pinch her nose so she has no choice but to swallow. it’s for her own good as the antibiotics wont do any good if its not in her – if it’s in tea or a shake, she has to drink the whole thing to get the correct dosage.
    i hope she feels better soon, and you too.

  2. Shea says:

    Gone are our once sweet babies. Now it’s them or us. You gotta do whatever is necessary to make sure you win. Toddlers and teenagers will try to break your spirit.

    Anyway, I for one think you did a fabulous job. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

  3. t. sheree says:

    I hope Regan is feeling much, much better. Hang in there, mommy. 🙂

  4. nineteen69 says:

    We had recurring ear infections with both boys. I feel your pain. Hope she is feeling better soon!

Say something

