Sweaty

Did I tell you guys I finally broke down and got fake nails?  I really wanted to try wearing them after wearing my natural nails for the last 12 years or so.  I decided to do it for the winter when my nails are the most brittle.  I ended up getting the gel nails.  I always wore them super short.  After wearing them for two months, I went in last night and had them removed. 

I was reminded why I hated wearing them in the first place.  I loved how they looked for the first week, but by week two I always was ready for another fill in (we call it a balance in Ohio).  I think fake nails should always be on point.  When they start to grow out it is so obvious and looks super tacky in my opinion.

The other thing I hated was all of that grinding and sanding of my delicate nail bed.  My fingers felt assaulted at the end of every fill in.  And even though they looked good, I knew it was not good for me.

The cost was also prohibitive.  I can not get a manicure if I want.  But I can NOT not get a fill in.  I literally had to add nails to my budget, whereas before it was just a nicety that I would get when I had some extra cash.  With my new ride (which I have still yet to name) I needed to reduce any extras in my budget.

All of those things considered and that is still not the reason I got rid of the nails.

The last time I got a fill in, a young dude did my nails.  He was a nice enough guy.  Made small talk.  Cracked jokes with me.  And my nails looked absolutely the best ever when he did them.  Seriously, they looked great.  But…His.Hands.Were.Sweaty!

*shivers*

Oh.  It was gross.  Like, I can’t even tell you how gross it was.  I was completely skeeved.  And knowing that he is the main guy for acrylics and gel nails, I knew I’d have to encounter him again.  Plus, he likes me so I know he’d probably end up getting him again.  I just couldn’t put myself through that.  I love my nail shop and I have no interest in finding a new one.  So the fake nails had to go.

Last night I went in and had them removed.  Everyone was shocked.  The Owner, the Old Lady (that’s what I call her) and Sweaty.  I told them I loved the nails but I just wanted to go back to natural. 

I didn’t have the heart to tell Sweaty I didn’t want his clammy paws on me ever again.

This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sweaty

  1. Kurlylicious says:

    Sweaty hands handling my hands, no ma’am! I would be skeeved too! Skeeved cracks me up by the way! LOL

  2. MrsTDJ says:

    Ewww! I don’t like touching sweaty hands at all. I’m not sure I could have let him finish my manicure.

  3. creolepeach says:

    I hate sweaty hands. Give me the creeps. I did gel nails for several months…until I noticed something green under one. The girl took them off and said I needed to wait 2 weeks before getting them again. I told her that was it for me! I do gel polish mostly now .

  4. innerdiva says:

    LOL! It takes so long to get a fill….how icky.

  5. t. sheree says:

    Gross! That must have been torture! Sorry 😦

  6. M says:

    The sweaty hands would have really bothered me.

    I had my acrylic nails removed when I was pregnant with my daughter in ’99. I was mortified at the condition of my nails at the time. ACK! I’ve never looked back. I did learn how to give myself great manis though.

  7. M says:

    Get some Duri rejuvocote & use as base and top coat every other day. You will see difference in your nails in a few weeks.

    http://www.amazon.com/Duri-Cosmetics-00001-Rejuvacote-0-61oz/dp/B000G33KEO/ref=sr_1_1?s=beauty&ie=UTF8&qid=1323473291&sr=1-1

Say something

