When Bacon Goes Horribly, Horribly Wrong

I love bacon.  Love it.  I like it by itself with a few scrambled eggs or a couple of flapjacks.  I like it crumbled over a salad.  I even like betwixt two slices of bread with its good friends lettuce and tomato.

You know how I don’t like it?  In a sandwich with nutella and bananas.

Last week, when my mother was here, she decided she just had to have this sandwich she saw on The C.hew.  So, being the ever dutiful daughter, I went to the store with my list and picked out just the right bacon and bread whatever else was on her list.

This is the result.  Basically she assembled the ingredients and then fried it like grilled cheese.  It wasn’t nasty, it just wasn’t good.  It was weird.  And it was all we had planned for dinner so I kinda had to eat it.

I definitely would not make this again.  In fact I told her it was one of the worst food days I had in a long time and I was mad it was how we ended the weekend.

 

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When Bacon Goes Horribly, Horribly Wrong

  1. Joe says:

    I’ve always believed that the day I found anything with bacon unpalatable would somehow herald the apocalypse. Now I’m debating trying this just to reassure myself the end is not at hand.

  2. SoniaB says:

    I’m sorry Babs, I can’t imagine anything being bad with bacon.

  3. claudia says:

    Dude! Eff is wrong with you!? You leave your child in your running car to address some bird about not following positive social protocol! I DO NOT STAND BY THIS BEHAVIOR AT ALL! Yes her not making life happy and convenient for you as well as her follow up middle finger gesture to your horn blowing about the situation was uncalled for and highly annoying but your response was by far much worse. I am incredibly disappointed and I really hope for the sake of at least your child you intend to Do Better! UGH!!!

  4. Okay, there are a few things that you should consider:
    #1- You left this comment on the wrong post. Someone reading about a bacon sandwich is going to be very confused.
    #2- The whole point of my post is to talk about how ridiculous and inappropriate my behavior was (albeit in a lighthearted way)
    #3- You don’t actually know me, so your obvious emotional elevation (i.e. overuse of the exclamation point) is a bit much.
    #4- I don’t know you, so that fact that you are disappointed or don’t stand by me behavior bears no weight on my life whatsoever.

    That being said, thanks for reading.

  5. Honest says:

    I don’t like Nutella at all! In fact I think it’s kind of nasty but people including folks in my family love it!

    Non merci.

  6. I’m sad that the sandwich was a fail because really it looks quite tasty in the picture.

  7. MrsTDJ says:

    Damn. I trust you words and I know your love for bacon, but I’m still gonna have to try this one on my own! *lol* I believe all things bacon are sent from heaven. And, since nutella is also nectar from the gods, how could this go so horribly wrong???? **perplexed and ready to cook this weekend**

Say something

