The Hunger Games

Yes, I know I’m late to the game.  And yes, I know a bunch of you read it for blogland bookclub.  Sorry, I STAY busy so I don’t have the luxury of reading whenever I want.  I mean I have blogging to do and housewives to make fun of.

Hunger games.jpg

Anywho, I received an invite to Discodiva’s bookclub meeting and I knew it would be a day when I was baby free, so I decided I would try to read it.  Add to that the fact that the book could be lended (gratis!) through my faithful Pootie Tang and I was in.

I heard people rave about the book, but I didn’t expect to love it like I did.  I mean I LOVED it.  It was really a very good read.  I finished it in three days and I am a slow reader.  On Saturday after we got home from church and baby went to sleep, I sat on my couch reading for three hours.  No tv, no computer.  Just me, a glass of wine and my Nook.

The downside is that I had some really bizarre dreams.  So after I downloaded the second book in the series, I purposely didn’t start reading it right away.  I needed to clear my mind before I see what becomes of Katniss and Peeta.

Have you read “The Hunger Games”?  Are you looking forward to the movie?

This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Hunger Games

  1. Michelle says:

    YES!! I was late to read them too, but once I read the first one, I was hooked! I know what you mean though, we were talking about it at work and it stays in your mind. I am reading the last one right now, it is a little more slow going.

  2. Shantel says:

    I have seen this all over blogland also, but have yet to pick it up. Now I have to read it, you see, because I can’t have the movie come out before I finish it. That’s just unacceptable. Then I won’t be able to use my little snooty phrase, “Oh, I read the book. I hope they didn’t ruin the story.”

  3. nineteen69 says:

    I have read all three. I can’t wait for the movie!

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    Read it, loved it. As soon as I finish my current read, I’m going to read the rest of the series!

  5. Gladys says:

    I downloaded the trilogy and will be reading the first book for a bookclub in Feb. I hope I enjoy it, too!

  6. mac says:

    I just started.this book last night. Bought my 13yo son books 2 and 3 for Christmas and he is ready for discussion. We have our own book club at thehouse. He said it is like tv but in books.

  7. discodiva73 says:

    So glad you liked it! I recommended it to bookclub a year ago and was totally scoffed! I think we will be seeing a lot of genuflecting and apologies going around on Saturday!

  8. I loved these books! I was late getting on the bandwagon too, and I spent last weekend reading all 3 of them! I just couldn’t put them down (lucky I had 48 hours with absolutely nothing to do). I ended up having some crazy, action-packed movie-like dreams too. Good stuff!

    Like your blog, btw.

  9. Rosesdaughter says:

    I’m late to the game too. Two of my coworkers are reading the series. I need to get with the program and download it to my nook!

  10. AmyG says:

    I read all 3!! I cannot wait for the movie!!

  11. AR Gal says:

    I’ve not read the books but the movie preview peaked my interest.

  12. BK says:

    late reading them and I’m halfway through book 2. one of my twitter friends has been having dreams they were in the hunger games which totally cracks me up!!! looking forward to the movie but I need to finish reading them.. hard finding time with baby and all

  13. After reading all of the discussion on Nerd Girl’s site, I was intrigued and said I was going to read it…but I still haven’t had the time. Perhaps I’ll stop by Target tonite and pick it up…

  14. Well, I’m definitely adding this to my reading list!

Say something

