Crockpot Goodness!

I have long been a lover of Split Pea Soup, so when I passed by the beans the other day  and saw a bag of split peas I decided to try my hand at making it.  The directions on the bag seemed pretty simple, but I didn’t want all those ingredients, so I kept it simple.

In my crockpot, I added some onions, ham, bag of split peas, 1 can chicken broth, three cans of water, garlic salt, sea salt and pepper.  Oh and a couple of bay leaves.  I would have added fresh garlic, but I was fresh out.

I cooked it on low for about 10 hours.  The peas were still a little firm, so I put it on high for about an hour.

My house, and even my garage smelled heavenly.  I used my ladle and smashed them up right before I served.  The results were YUM.  This is going to be such a tasty lunch tomorrow.  And baby will defintiely like it too.

 

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crockpot Goodness!

  1. onefromphilly says:

    Since I stopped eating meat I’m really getting into making home soups and vegetable dishes. I made a White Bean Soup that was DE-LISH! I added crab meat. But I made WAY too much and forgot to freeze half. I’ll know better next time. Last week I made a vegetable soup and added lobster meat. I’m on a soup roll now!

  2. kimmy says:

    Wow! It looks delicious!

  3. MrsTDJ says:

    I love making homemade soups. I froze the ham bone from Christmas and made split pea soup last weekend. Delish! And, I’ve started adding a bit of split peas to almost all my soups. Gives it a certain thickness that is heavenly, yet because it’s so little, the split pea flavor doesn’t take over. No one would know unless you told them.

  4. SimplyB says:

    Looks good!! I love to make beans in my crockpot but never made a soup. I don’t think I’ve ever had split peas. Do they taste like lentils?

Say something

