2022

I blame my ongoing obsession with “The Hunger Games” and a girl named Katniss.

Yesterday while I was bored to death sitting in a meeting I had a vision of Regan being an Olympic competitor.  I see greatness in her future, so why shouldn’t I set my sights on a Gold medal?  I started brainstorming possible Olympic events.  I knew it couldn’t be anything that required true athletic talent.  I mean, you’ve seen her people, right?  Plus, I don’t want anything too terribly expensive.  I would love for her to be an equestrian, but the only ponies I can afford are under the hood of my car.  Then it hit me.

She will excel in archery! 

Can’t you just see it?!  My little brown girl, focused with her bow and arrow.  She’ll be taller than me by then. Her hair will be in a large pony puff.  She’ll probably have her ears pierced.  I’ll give her a pair of diamond studs as a gift before her first Olympic event.  Her hands will be manicured and camera ready.  She will be poised for all the interviews.  Everyone will want to interview the young Black girl from the United States who achieved a Gold Medal during her first games!

Yes, my fantasies can get carried away.  But my vision is real!

Last night I did some research on Archery in Georgia.  It looks like most places won’t even give her lessons until she is 8.  I’ll give her another 4 years to perfect her talent and mature a bit.  And then in 2022…it’s on!

This entry was posted in Foxy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2022

  1. innerdiva says:

    The way you described your vision, I can see it too….she’ll be like a black Artemis.

  2. Honest says:

    Yeah! I’ll cheer her on.

  3. NaturallyK says:

    I love it! There’s nothing wrong with having a dream for your children. Serena and Venus wouldn’t be where they are if their dad didn’t dream 🙂

  4. 1969 says:

    Why not?

  5. sundaze says:

    It’s a great idea! At the very least it’ll get her some money for college.I dated a guy who’d gone to school on a fencing scholarship. He’d never even tried the sport unitl sophomore year of HS but schools were anxious to have a little brown boy on their team.

  6. AmyG says:

    you crack my shit up 🙂 I love and miss you 🙂

  7. onefromphilly says:

    I endorse this post!

  8. onefromphilly says:

    I took Archery for PhysEd in college. I wasn’t great but I wasn’t half bad either. I went to Howard so you can imagine that not many of us had Archery before this. We all really enjoyed the class and got quite competitive with each other by the end of the semester. If I had started earlier in life I probably would have loved it and stayed with it.

  9. Gladys says:

    I dig it! I’d love to see her doing this! Yay for Mommy’s vision!

  10. Rosesdaughter says:

    Well, why not?

Say something

