Planting Roots

Yesterday, in the afternoon, I participated in a community service event planting trees.  The site location was in South Atlanta.  A place I had never visited in my nearly nine years of living here.  At one point, I came upon a big castle-looking structure and realized it was a United States Penitentiary.  Who knew there was even a penitentiary in Atlanta?!  I was so intrigued by that building.  To say it was beautiful is not an understatement.  I was not alone, many of my coworkers remarked about it as well.  I was going to pull over and take a pic, but I was afraid someone would think I was scoping out the joint to free my man, so I decided against it.

Once I arrived at the rec center where we were meeting, we gathered to get our instructions for the day.  There were roughly 20 of us planting over 60 trees.  As the girl demonstrated the proper way to dig a hole for the tree, I admit I wondered where my mind was when I volunteered for this.  Good deeds be damned, this was gonna be work!

I paired up with a young girl and an older lady.  Shockingly, we didn’t do too bad.  We managed to get a whole dug in a lot less time than I imagined.  By the end of the day we had planted two trees in holes we dug and one tree in a hole that was already done.

At one point, I was walking down the street after taking a break when I noticed a car driving down the street.  I heard a man’s voice trying to get my attention.  I didn’t turn around.  I just kept walking and thought to myself “keep it moving homie, you are not gonna get what’s inside of these do-me jeans.”  I stopped to talk to my team lead and the car pulled up to us.  Inside was a man who can only be described as an octegenarian.  He wanted to know what streets we were planting trees on and to thank us for our hard work.

Oops.

I really need to get my ego under control.

 

This entry was posted in Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planting Roots

  1. AmyG says:

    you.kill.me 🙂 hilarious 🙂 Keep up the good work Babs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. discodiva73 says:

    Ha! I am sure he was going to holler but then changed your mind. 🙂

    Yes…the Oz is in Atlanta! You didn’t know? There are signs everywhere when you get close to it.

  3. onefromphilly says:

    LOL..you crack me up!

Say something

