I Survived

I survived my first night without my baby.  She slept at her dad’s last night.  I was so excited for the day to finally arrive, but when I talked to her on the phone and she said, “eye luh youuu mooommmaaa” I got a little sad.  But then:

  • I ate nothing but stuffed mushrooms and wine for dinner.
  • I baked fresh chocolate chip cookies without my handsy assistant in the kitchen saying “hot!” every two minutes.
  • I watched television at high volume and laughed out loud without worrying about waking my sleeping beauty.
  • I slept like a hibernating bear with the heat off under my warm comforter.
  • I was able to take a long, hot shower without worrying that my sidekick was going to demand to join me.
  • I haven’t seen a single mouse, duck, train or octonaut in more than 24 hours.

Yep, I survived my first night away from my baby.  But I sure can’t wait to see her little face this afternoon!

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Survived

  1. Jenni says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed your first night alone. It sounds like you did it up right!!!

  2. MrsTDJ says:

    Woo hoo! I’m glad you were able to enjoy it and now worry like crazy, or miss her too much. The breaks are NICE!!

  3. heartdrops says:

    aww! Glad you survived AND got some quality alone-time!

  4. ondrea says:

    Wait til I tell her you had all of that fun without her! LOL Glad you got a break. They are so necessary.

  5. t. sheree says:

    The mental picture is fuuuuunny! Good times. 🙂

    Btw, I ate my last Larabar Sunday (I was intent on making those bad boys last). I LOVED them! Thanks again for the cool contest!

  6. Breaks are GREAT! I’m jealous….

  7. K says:

    Glad you survived!

    And, oohhhhh, those Octonauts. Did you know that the dancing turnips are called “vegimals”? Yeah.

Say something

