Impossible

My mother had a birthday a few weeks ago.  In the past I’ve given her some not so stellar gifts (did you know I HATE buying gifts?) so I really wanted to do something spectacular this year to show her how much I appreciate her.  One of the things I’ve started doing over the last six months or so is keep a running list of gift ideas for her whenever she mentions something in conversation.  This worked out great for Christmas. 

A few months ago she randomly mentioned a show she used to watch when she was a little girl.  It was the Rodger’s & Hammerstein version of Cinderella starring Lesley Ann Warren.  Most of you will remember the Whitney and Brandy version that came out in the 90s, but long before those two hit the screen I knew every single song on that soundtrack.

The 1965 version used to air every single year when I was a little girl as well.  My mom and I would watch it together and sing all the songs.  I loved it just as much as she did.  So when she mentioned that she hadn’t seen it in more than 20 years, I knew it was the perfect gift.

I was thrilled to find it available on Amazon.  I was not thrilled with the price.  A new DVD cost nearly $300!  Now, I love my momma, but I love feeding my child more, so that just wasn’t feasible.  I saw some used DVDs in different prices.  I decided to go with a “like new” item from a reputable seller for a third of the price.

On the day of her birthday we got on Facetime and she opened her gift.  I was thrilled to see her face.  She was so excited.  She cried and said it was the most thoughtful gift I had ever given her.

Last week she brought the DVD with her and after we put Regan to bed we opened a bottle of wine and settled in for an old fave.  It was like it was 1982 all over again.  Except that now that I am older I realized how cheesy the set and costumes were.  We hollered as we pointed out all the flaws.  But we sang along with every song.  Yep, we both still knew the words to every single song!

It was a great night with my mommy.  It was great to feel like a little girl again. 

You know, if little girls had babies and drank wine with their mothers.

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Impossible

  1. Gladys says:

    This is beautiful, Babs. Very thoughtful!

  2. LoriF says:

    Aww! That was awesome! You totally made me tear up though. I’ve been making a running list for people for awhile now – it really works out great! All my mom ever says though is stuff like ‘alphabetize my CD collection’, ‘organize the family photos’ or ‘clean my house’, I mean, WTH?? I end up doing them for various occasions since that’s what she wants, but really, I can’t just buy her something? LOL! I think it’s just her way of sweet revenge to finally get me do chores that she used to have to argue with me to do! 🙂

  3. cbean says:

    That is precious!! Me and my mom just sit around and share ungodly thoughts of what we would do with Shemar Moore. LOL

  4. Gngrsnap says:

    Love this! Beautiful story..

  5. August says:

    Awwww I LOVE this! So special.

Say something

