What Mother’s Do

Wanna know how you tell when your child is not longer a baby?

When her spit up turns to straight VOMIT.

Last night, at 3am, I was all snuggly in my bed when I heard baby crying out for me.  I contemplated ignoring her until she went back to sleep but decided to go check on her.  I didn’t turn the light on, but the nightlight illuminated the room enough for me to see.  I saw some dark spots on the bed and touched it.  Then the rest of my senses kicked in and I smelled it.

I turned on the light and it was redrum everywhere.  That baby had vomitted chunks of red stuff all over the bed.  The only thing I could make out were goldfish crackers, but I know she enjoyed cupcakes and punch at a birthday party at school that day.

I snapped out of my sleepy state and snapped to action.  I stripped the baby and the bed.  I washed the baby and threw the sheets in the washer.  I brushed teeth, gave kisses and got the baby settled in my own bed (surrounded by towels of course).

We managed to fall back asleep but she was bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 7am.  We lazed in the bed for an hour or so and went downstairs.  I was going to make breakfast but decided to start with a banana.  Good thing because five minutes after she ate it she was puking it back up. Thankfully this time it was in the kitchen and on a hard surface and easy to clean.  I patted her back and told her it was okay.

After I cleaned her up for the second time in 5 hours, I decided we’d lay low in the living room.  I layed out a blanket on the floor so she wouldn’t puke all over my area rug.  She asked for her paci and climbed up in my lap and went to sleep.  I didn’t want to disturb her so I let her sleep in my arms for nearly two hours.

Thankfully, she was well by the afternoon.  She took a long bath and then we headed out for a day of fun.  But not before dropping the puke filled comforter off at the dry cleaners.

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Mother’s Do

  1. Mothers rock !
    To.this.very.day, if I have occasion to vomit, I think of my mother(lovingly LOL). She had the most comforting way with me as a child, rubbing my back, soothing words, giving me a cold towel and yes cleaning up the mess. I always felt better being sick when my mother was around.

  2. Ahhh, the things mother’s do…

Say something

