Babyfree in the Queen City

This past weekend was my first babyfree weekend in almost a year.  I was really looking forward to some Me time and I knew I didn’t want to spend it just sitting around the house, so I planned a little mini-break and headed to Charlotte.

My first stop in Charlotte was to see the blogger formerly known as Serenity23.  We’ve been reading each other’s blogs for years and she is someone I truly felt like I know personally.  It was great to finally meet her in person.  And that Tyler?  So handsome and tall!

 

We headed to Uptown for lunch.  There was a lot of St. Patty’s tomfoolery going on so we had to sit in traffic for a bit.  Luckily there were some entertaining blokes walking down the street.

We ended up at Mert’s for some soul food.  Jameil had recommended the place and I was happy with the reviews I read online, so this was a good choice.  The food was tasty.  I had fried chicken, mac n cheese and greens.  It was just what I needed after a long drive.

Next we headed to the Levine Museum of the New South.  Serenity hadn’t been so it was a good choice.  I really liked the museum.  It had great exhibits showing the development of Charlotte.  It started way back with sharecroppers and tenant farmers.  It showcased both blacks and whites.  I felt like it was inclusive of both sides without sugarcoating anything.  The best part is that, aside from about two other people, we were the only ones there.

Tyler and I had fun in the Belk store replica trying on clothes.

Tyler enjoyed playing with this medieval contraption called the typewriter.

We parted after the museum and I headed to my hotel.  Since it was my first weekend away from my baby, I decided to treat myself to a nice hotel.  And the Westin did the trick.  I explained to the guy at checkin that I was babyfree and I would be needing both a king sized bed and a room with a view.  He was happy to oblige.

I intended to relax in my room for an hour or so but then I realized the time. It was after 5 o’clock and I had yet to have a babyfree celebratory drink!  I made it to the hotel bar quick, fast and in a hurry.

I started with a glass of wine, but quickly realized that a $13 glass of wine was not going to get me where I wanted to be on my budget.  I told my bartendress that I wanted to switch to likka.  She suggested the whiskey sour which was on special.  I literally haven’t had one since freshmen year and didn’t think it would be my steeze, but she cut it with a little grenadine and it was right on time.  I was knocking those things back like they were fruit juice.  *shame* *not really*

By the time Ms Mixtress joined me for a drink, I felt great.  We had a great time sitting at the bar.  Even though we met the last time she was visiting Atlanta, I didn’t get the chance to really talk to her.

I can’t tell you how long we sat there, but I didn’t move from my seat for hours.  A friendly gent at the end of the bar offered to buy us Irish sidecars, but we told the bartendress we don’t do beer.  We told her we’d gladly accept shots of patron.  And so we did!

At the precise moment I realized I was drunk, I ordered a burger.  And it was delish.  I think.  I kinda inhaled it.  Those sweet potato tots sure did leave a lasting impression.  Ms. Mixtress ordered a couple of cupcakes which she immediately decided were not as good as Pink Cupcake Dreams.

By the time we said our goodbyes and I made my way up to my room, I had just enough sense to take a quick, hot, heavenly shower before I dived in my bed and passed the hell out.  Good times!

As I headed back to Atlanta, I was happy with my little mini-break.  It was good to getaway and not be a mommy.  I even started brainstorming my next getaway.  But I was definitely ready to get home and see my favorite girl.

This entry was posted in Food, Friends, Out and About. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Babyfree in the Queen City

  1. jameil says:

    Woohoo! Glad you liked Mert’s! We went there during our mini-moon right after we got married. That burger looks AWESOME! I have never heard a bad thing about the Westin in Charlotte. And I’ve partied in their bar. LOL I have no reason to ever stay there but I’ll keep it in mind nonetheless!

  2. Michelle says:

    Looks like you had fun! Good for you for taking a little Mommy getaway! 🙂

  3. discodiva73 says:

    Very nice getaway! Hi Serenity!

  4. JustMoe says:

    Sounds like you had a great getaway!! I haven’t seen a typewritter in forever lol … Hi Serenity!!

  5. Kurlylicious says:

    Looks like you had a great time! I LOVE Mert’s! And I stayed at the Westin at the suggestion of my former boss when I was in the process of relocating to Charlotte! Shots of Patron – you ladies know how to have a good time! LOL Your burger and tots look delish! Hey Serenity & Tyler!

  6. MrsTDJ says:

    Nice getaway and a great way to recharge!! Glad you enjoyed yourself.

  7. brannon says:

    Great pics…and I love your hair!

  8. So glad you had a great time at The Westin Charlotte over St. Patrick’s Day weekend! You’re welcome to come back and stay with us ANYTIME – baby free or not! =)

    Be Well!
    -The Westin Charlotte-

  9. Pingback: Sick and Tired « The M Spot

Say something

