Bob’s Friend

A couple of month’s ago I was walking through the cafeteria at work and I saw I guy I once knew.  We hung out in the same circles and had been at some of the same parties.  This was back when I was youngerthinnerprettier and could manage to stay up past 11pm on a school night.

I couldn’t remember his name, but I walked over anyway to say hello. 

Babs: Hey, aren’t you Bob’s friend?
Dude: (looking around nervously) Yeah.
Babs: I’m Babs, we met a few times through Bob.
Dude: (looking like he didn’t want to talk to me) Oh, okay

At that point I could tell that he didn’t want to be bothered with me.  He was sitting with coworkers and wasn’t acting the least bit friendly.  I don’t know if he thought I was trying to flirt with him or if he is just rude by nature, but I quickly said goodbye and went back to my lunch.  It wasn’t that serious, but I was a bit annoyed that he was giving me the cold shoulder for no good reason.  What happened to folks just being friendly?

Now, here’s the thing, later on I realized that he is not Bob’s friend.  I still know him, but through someone else at work.  So why did he say he was Bob’s friend?  And why was he acting weird?

Who knows and who cares.  I honestly hadn’t given the whole scene a second thought.

Until I saw him jogging on my street this morning.

 

 

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bob’s Friend

  1. CC says:

    That encounter happened because if by CHANCE you end up hitting him with your car (JUST A LIL) while he’s jogging in your ‘hood, you won’t feel so bad…cuz he’s a douche! 🙂

    Happy May Day, Chickie!

  2. Honest says:

    Ha! Maybe he was acting weird because he was embarrassed that you clearly knew him but he didn’t know you. Maybe he knows a “bob” and is a “bob”s friend. It’s a small world out there.

  3. Hahaha, he’s an azz! And a weirdo. You should have called out to him and said with great enthusiasm and emphasis on Bob, “Hey Bob’s friend! Fancy seeing you around here.” Maybe that would’ve caused him to trip.

  4. dmac says:

    That’s funny. Dude really thinks he is so fine that you would just be talking to him all willy nilly? At work? What a goofus!

    See, I would go back to him and say “hey, i saw you jogging past my house the other day. what’s up with that?” and really watch him squirm!

  5. Kena says:

    I think I’m the only one to read this differently…he’s probably not wanting to embarass you by saying, duh–we are neighbors, I live right across/next to you, that is how you know me. Maybe he, himself was trippin, we all know Bob’s at work, maybe he was like—I thought she lived by me—how do I know her through Bob?

Say something

