What’s in a Name?

I’ve been planning for furniture for Regan’s room for a couple of months.  I found what I wanted pretty quickly, but I had to wait to buy it until I had the funds.  Did you know they actually don’t let you buy things on charm and good looks?  Crazy, I know.

Last week I finally went in to purchase it and I was so excited.  I decided on a pretty set from a local budget-friendly chain.  On the day I decided to make the purchase, I went to a different location than the one I had originally visited.

The sales person that greeted me had the same name as someone I have an extreme distaste for.  She was super friendly and showed me to the bedroom set I was interested in.  Immediately I felt different about the purchase.  The set didn’t look as nice as it did the first time I saw it.  The knobs on the dressers weren’t as sturdy.  And when the sales person touch the bed with her foot and it scuffed immediately, I knew I wouldn’t be making that purchase.

When I left I decided to go across the street to a more expensive furniture store.  I didn’t think I could afford Regan’s bedroom furniture there, but I wanted to compare what they had to what I was now turning down my nose to make sure I wasn’t overreacting.

The sales lady that greeted me had the same name as my dear friend Disco Diva.  I know you might think it’s weird, but that immediately put me at ease.  I asked her to show me youth furniture in white and when she took me to the set I loved it immediately.   I could totally picture my baby sleeping on it for years to come.

In the end, the cost of everything with tax and delivery came to only a couple of hundred dollars more, but the difference in quality in insurmountable.

Regan’s furniture was delivered a few days later.  After the delivery guys left, I stood in her room and got a little teary-eyed.  It made me so happy to create her own little special space.

She absolutely loves it.  I think she really gets that it’s just for her!  I’m really looking forward to decorating it and making it special according to her personality.

This entry was posted in Nursery. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. It looks beautiful!! Great job!!

  2. AmyG says:

    I.love.it. Sooooo much!!!! You made a good decision!!!!!!

  3. Rose's Daughter says:

    It’s beautiful!!!!! Sigh. Sometimes I wish I had a girl….

  4. Deljah says:

    Beautiful room! I totally get what you mean by the name, but with me, it’s moreso looks. If someone reminds me of someone I like, then that person already has good credit with me. The opposite is true as well.

  5. Beautiful furniture!

    If you are spending $$$$ its best to be 100% comfortable with the experience. Glad you went to the other spot.

  6. pheb says:

    BEAUTIFUL bedroom for a beautiful little girl. My Daddy always told me to spend the bucks on big ticket items that you’ll have for a long time. I love it!

  7. heartdrops says:

    awww! so beautiful!

  8. coco327 says:

    I think you did a great job. Very fitting for your cutie pie!

  9. kimmy says:

    Beautiful!! I love it! Is that a twin or full sized bed? I can’t really tell.

  10. discodiva73 says:

    A room worthy of your little princess! I love it…can I stay here?

  11. okrehab says:

    Very pretty.. Is it wrong that I am salty that at 30+ I never had more than a funky old twin size bed at my mom’s house.. Regan is already winning in life..

  12. BK says:

    It’s beautiful!!! I love it!!!

  13. gnah says:

    Very nice! That room looks peaceful!

  14. onefromphilly says:

    Very pretty!

  15. Nerd Girl says:

    Nice! What a wonderful room she has.

  16. doahleigh says:

    Everything is so adorable! Great job.

  17. t.sheree says:

    Love it!

  18. I love it and I think you made an excellent choice!!

  19. brannon says:

    I love it; the furniture’s beautiful!

  20. LoriF says:

    The room’s so cute! Where did you get the letters for the name? I love the funky irregularity. I wanted to have a set done for Kate’s room but (at the time) wanted to spell out Katherine and that was too expensive. I’ve since gotten over doing it at all, but I’m still obsessed with lettering 🙂

Say something

