How Did This Happen?

A few weeks ago, I was at the birthday party for Dark&Lovely’s daughter and struck up a conversation with one of her tennis teammates.  When I mentioned that I used to play on the same tennis team as D&L but wasn’t at all a good tennis player, she got excited because she knew someone putting together a low level team.

Some of you will recall that I used to love playing tennis, and by “playing tennis” I mean wearing cute skirts and coordinating eloborate feasts.  I gladly gave her my contact information and told her I’d love to play again.

Fast forward to today and I am trying to figure out why in the world I thought this would be a good idea.  First, the team is a little less organized than I choose to be.  Everything has been so last minute and rushed.  Second, what the hell am I going to do with that baby when I have practice or games?  A babysitter is another expense I cannot afford.  Third, I don’t have anything to wear.  I got rid of all my tennis clothing when I was pregnant and subsequently moved.  Lastly, and this is the most important, I DON’T REMEMBER HOW TO PLAY TENNIS!!!!!

I literally haven’t picked up a tennis racket in 3 years.  Even when I did play, I wasn’t very good.  These women are going to be so disappointed when I show up for practice tomorrow.  If I’m lucky they won’t actually schedule me for any games lest I make a complete fool of myself. Wait they’re called matches, aren’t they? 

See what I mean?!?

This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to How Did This Happen?

  1. BK says:

    you will do fine!!! it’s just like riding a bike.. *now nothing to wear.. I know you can remedy that with a quick run to tarjay or something* As for the baby, it will show her something new and she may become interested in playing too! maybe check with them to see if there is child care at the location or if there is an older child available to babysit while you have practice. that was a way for me to get my runs in when my mom wasn’t able to watch the baby and the kids were at practice..

    Have fun!!

  2. Michael says:

    hahahahahahahahahahaha

  3. LOL! maybe it is like riding a bike??

  4. Honest says:

    Yeah what BK said. lol!

  5. kimmy says:

    Go for it. It will give you an outlet…mommy time. My outlet is running. It’s my time away from the kids and I love it.

  6. nineteen69 says:

    WOW….that was a paragraph full of excuses. LOL Suck it up and throw some shorts and a t-shirt on and go out there and just have fun. You will probably enjoy it once you get started. If it’s a low level team, they are all probably anxious. All you have to do is hit the ball over the net and stay in the box. YOU GOT THIS BABS! 🙂

Say something

