Scenario

You have a toddler in daycare. Once a week the ice cream truck comes and the kids can buy a treat. You don’t give your child money because you don’t believe a mid-week ice cream treat is necessary. You explain this to the teacher.

On ice cream day, you get a call from the teacher. It seems your child is the only one without a dollar. She wants to know if it’s okay to give her ice cream since all the other kids have it.

What do you do?

Please forgive any spelling errors. My iPhone thinks she’s smarter than me.

This entry was posted in Randomly Speaking. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Scenario

  1. Jenni says:

    Is there a freezer at the school? Maybe you could take her a healthier frozen treat so she would have something but just not sugary sweet ice cream.

  2. Rose's Daughter says:

    I had this same problem this week. I don’t want Pookah to have those dyed no nutritional value surgery ice pops they are serving so I didn’t give him $2. ( yes they want $2). Only to be informed that they have him one anyway. Because he was one of the few who didn’t have one. Oh really????

  3. kimmy says:

    I would pack an extra snack and ask the teacher to give that to her when the other kids are eating ice cream. I would be a little annoyed with the teacher for calling since you’ve already explained that to her.

  4. ARGal says:

    Damn. Did you stutter when it was explained to her the first time?

  5. AmyG says:

    It is once a week…it will not hurt her!!!!

  6. dmac says:

    Give her the ice cream. I pick my battles and i’d let this slide right on through.

    Now, if I were you and this was my first baby, I’d probably be annoyed. I mean after breastfeeding, making healthy baby food from scratch, nutruring baby’s love of healthy fruits and veggies – alladat negated by some doggone ice cream?!! Naw, I wouldn’t be having it either.

  7. nineteen69 says:

    Bring a box of sugar free popsicles to school and leave them there for her to enjoy when it’s ice cream time.

  8. NaturallyK says:

    I would be annoyed too and I would probably give in. I like 1969’s suggestion.

  9. Ondrea says:

    If the issue is just that you don’t want her to have sugary treats, I’d go with 1969’s suggestion. I think the daycare just does not want her to be singled out when snack time comes.

  10. Nerd Girl says:

    I’d take something for her to have. We were raised by parents who were pretty strict about what we ate – absolutely hated it – we were always sitting around without meat/ice cream/candy/treats looking crazy.

  11. Serenity23 says:

    I’d let her have $ for icecream. I never want my kid to feel left out or singled out.

  12. LoriF says:

    Perhaps I’m the only one thinking this but, why does a school give an “option” for a patent to pay for extra ice-cream treats, then call and guilt said parent to pony up when the option is not exercised?? What is that about? I’m thinking that instead of making Mom feel like she’s excluded her kid, it’s the school’s responsibility when giving parents “choices” to ensure that the kids going without don’t feel excluded. Maybe by redirecting those children’s interests elsewhere, to another activity, treat, classroom, whatever until the ice-cream activity is over. They HAVE to expect that not every parent will opt-in, unless they were planning to guilt-trip them from the get go. I mean, what do they do with kids that are lactose intolerant? For the record, I’m with you Babs, weekly ice-cream is too much. Especially if they already get other sweets during the day. Personally, I’d probably only opt-in for this type of treat like once a month or so.

  13. missmajestic says:

    this is tough. If that is the only sugar she gets all week, I don’t think it will harm her. I don’t think your efforts at healthy eating will be in vain. As she gets older, you won’t always be able to monitor everything she eats. The director is dead wrong for calling you, though. You had already stated your wishes as a parent.

Say something

