Locator

Would you implant into your child a device that could locate them (like a chip in a dog)?  Let’s say the chip was put in their arm or a tooth?

 

 

This entry was posted in Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Locator

  1. NaturallyK says:

    Yes.

  2. before I had kids, i would have said no. Now, yes. I’m paranoid like that.

  3. Bridgette says:

    I usually lurk but decided to start commenting from now on. To answer this question, no I wouldn’t. I don’t trust the government (or whoever would be monitoring) like that. I have 3 kids, by the way.

  4. ARGal says:

    Even if I had children my answer would be the same. Hell no.

  5. Jenni says:

    Both of my dogs have chips. However, I’m not sure I would do that to my child. It’s not that I would want to find my dogs and not my child, but I just unsure about the idea. Maybe I would consider doing it in the very early years and then have it removed….

  6. onefromphilly says:

    YES!

  7. LoriF says:

    Being the parent of both a teen and a toddler, I’d have to say I’d definitely consider it. That someone would steal my child has always been my biggest fear since becoming a parent. Just think of all the crimes that would be gone if all kids or even up to young adults had locator chips? On the other hand, I’d have to assume that if everyone had them, the lengths that some people would go through to either remove or disable them would be quite scary. I think it’s definitely worth a thoughtful debate.

  8. najalimu says:

    I’m a mom of a toddler and I say no. I have trust issues with authorities. A little too “Matrix-y” for me :/

  9. Innerdiva says:

    There are devices that can locate my child without having to be implanted into him. What about the long term effects of the implant? I’d rather use the locator that can be clipped onto a shoelace or turn on the GPS feature on a cell phone.

  10. discodiva73 says:

    Yes…as long as it could be removed easily. I have chips in my dogs and have mini heart attacks when I can’t see them at the dog park! We have locator (GPS) for many of our valuables…why wouldn’t we want it for our children?

  11. Honest says:

    Yes. As long as it was easily removable. With the number of children that go missing every year hell yeah. While I’m not a fan of big brother watching my every move I’d rather be able to quickly locate my missing child.

  12. angie says:

    No, I thought a full day about this. My biggest fear is someone taking my daughter but I’m not good with government tracking.

  13. Maz says:

    Out of Lurkville ~No. My fear would in re to who is actually monitoring this device, potential hackers etc. I’ll pass on implanted tracking.

Say something

