Father’s Day

This Father’s Day was very special to me because it was the first Father’s Day I had spent with my dad since I was a young girl.  Can you imagine being 37 years old and never treating your dad to a Father’s Day dinner?  When dad told me he was coming I was super excited and immediately tried to plan a fabulous weekend.  That was pretty much a bust, since folks were wishy washy about what they wanted to do and didn’t give me time to plan.

We had fun around the house on Friday.  On Saturday we ran a few errands and of course ended up at Costco.  I tried to talk dad out of my usual Costco field trip since the weekend was supposed to be about him, but he reminded me I need to take advantage of his visits.  Besides, let’s face it, a sistah needed pull-ups and chicken breasts!

Sunday we set out to one of my favorite restaurants for a lovely lunch.  He was really impressed with the restaurant and said he can’t wait to come again.  He even said if he lived in Atlanta, he would be a regular there. 

Daddy got the sea bass and I got the lobster.  I don’t typically like to work for my food, but I felt like having something different.  We decided to skip the mimosas and both went for mojitos!

Gee, it seems I failed to mention the presence of my little sister during the weekend.  That’s because her presence left a big black mark on the weekend.  But I’ll save that for another post aboutspoiledbratswhodon’tknowhowtoactinpublic.

How was your Father’s Day?

 

 

This entry was posted in Family, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Father’s Day

  1. Honest says:

    Sounds like a fabulous weekend! I haven’t spent a father’s day with my dad since I was a kid before my parents got divorced. Maybe next year I’ll go down and take him out. I usually do it big for his b/day in March so I don’t really feel obligated to do it back in June.

  2. Gladys says:

    Father’s Day was just a regular weekend for me. My dad’s been deceased since I was an infant. So glad to see you and your dad together. By the way, I think I have that same dress. Target? High low hemline? If so, yeah I have it. 🙂

  3. angie says:

    You look very pretty. Can I ask where you got your dress. My brother sounds a lot like your sister so I’m sure that was an experience.

  4. t. sheree says:

    Nice pic! FD was great, but busy. I cooked my dad a meal of his favorite fried things, and he was sooo pleased. 🙂 His empty plate was worth all the hustle and bustle lol.

  5. Lovely picture of you and your male twin !
    I sent my gift to my step-father & talked to him via phone. I have a complicated situation with my biological, that I will save for my blog one day perhaps, LOL
    I am interested to hear about the little sister though. Family dynamics are always interesting, including my own 🙂
    Glad your dad enjoyed himself.

  6. Bridgette says:

    You look just like your dad. I can’t remember the last time I spent father’s day with my dad. I guess I should rectify that sooner than later.

  7. sherri says:

    I’m glad you ignored the nay sayers and were open to having your Dad in your life. It really isn’t too late as long as you are both breathing.

  8. Sasha says:

    I’m so glad you had a great time with your dad. I don’t have a good relationship with my father. I ended up crying to my friend Sunday about it. You look amazing in the purple dress. Girl, I must hear about your younger sister.

  9. I am always happy to see you and your Dad together and happy that your relationship is growing and growing.

    We visited both Dads and delivered gift cards..both were pleased. My FIL looks like he’s lost a little weight from not eating right but that’s understandable considering his loss. We check up on him regularly..but all are well!

  10. Cyn says:

    So happy for you! Glad that you and daddy are getting closer! I’m sure it was a special day for you both.

  11. dmac1990 says:

    That’s wonderful. Let your Daddy do for you how he wants to do for you. That’s what good Daddy’s do. Can you tell I’m a Daddy’s girl too?

Say something

