Get Yo’ Husband!

I really feel like I need to clarify something with the Universe, cause the men of Atlanta have really gotten me twisted.  Twisted!  There is no situation, reality or bizarro world where I would EVER engage in any activities with a married man.  Nothing disgusts me more than a man who is disloyal to his marriage vows.

Married men flirt with me a lot.  I hate it.  I don’t know what it is about me that makes them think I’d be down with adultery, but I am not.  I truly don’t even like to make eye contact with a married man.  I don’t even want to give them an opening.

Recently, I have come across two such snakes.  Take, for instance, a man we’ll call Daycare Dad.  One day I was picking Regan up and as I walked into the classroom, her (now gone) teacher said, “So and So’s daddy turned around and was looking at your booty.”  My response, “we should tell So and So’s mommy.”  Homie don’t play that.

There is another husband that flirts with me incessantly.  I am polite and make minimal chit chat, but nothing more than that.  Some days he has on his wedding ring, other days he does not.  Then today, he crossed the line.  I received an email that basically said, “Hey, Babs.  I notice you’re losing weight.  You are looking good.”

Ummm, okay, where should I start.  Number one, I’m not losing weight.  Nope not a single pound.  It’s my tan that makes me look thinner.  Number two, you shouldn’t be emailing me anything,  at all, ever.  If your household needs to communicate with my household, then your wife should do it.  Number three, what makes you think my weight is up for discussion?  How rude!  What if I was sensitive about it?  And finally, I am completely insulted that you would think I was so STUPID and DESPERATE that I would take that kind of bait!  I will die cold, alone and with cobwebs all up in my Queen Victoria before I ever did something like that.

I don’t really know him or his wife, but I know she is super nice.  And she probably doesn’t know her husband is a snake.  There is another situation that occurred with this same guy, but I don’t know who reads my blog, so I will keep those details to myself.

I haven’t decided how or if I will respond to this email.  This is someone I see every day, so I don’t want to make for an awkward situation, but at the same time I need to shut this sh!t down!

How would you handle it?

This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Get Yo’ Husband!

  1. Donna says:

    If you work together, send him an email back saying that you are not comfortable with the personal nature of the email he sent to you regarding your body. Going forward, he should restrict all communication with you to professional matters only. Also, find out how to report harassment to your HR department.

  2. I agree with Donna that you need to email him back (for the paper trail if nothing else) and very clearly and expressly state that he should cease and desist. If this isn’t work related, how did he get your email? That’s stalkerish in itself.

    And you shouldn’t worry about it seeming awkward, it should be awkward..for HIM. If he stops speaking to you, then all the better, right??

  3. ASmith says:

    I’ve had the same issue. Makes me uncomfortable as all get out because I think like you: what makes them think I’m cool with this.

    Part of me thinks it isn’t me, it’s women. Meaning he probably flirts with any woman to see if he can get something back on it. In any case, however, I’m not with it and it makes me want to punch things.

  4. Ms. Smart says:

    I agree with the other ladies. Respond clearly with it being completely inappropriate. He will either dead it or respond like he was joking. He wasn’t. This has worked with him before. His wife, although nice, knows who and what she married.

  5. nylse says:

    i wouldnt email him back – email is for just the facts maam; my feelings require me speaking to you.
    the next time i see him at daycare, i would tell him in no uncertain terms in a cool tone of voice – to stop the madness – you got his email – don’t send anymore and i’m not interested. and if his wife is there well have the conversation, calmly and move on.
    unfortunately you’re going to see him everyday or whenever you pick up your daughter but at least he knows where you stand.

  6. Bridgette says:

    I would email back to say that I’m uncomfortable with him contacting me and with his remarks about my body.

  7. Deljah says:

    I would email him back, but I would not specifically reference the comments about my body. IMO, that opens a door for him to say something else about it. I would say that I found his email to be inappropriate, and I don’t entertain unnecessary communication with married men. Does he work at the same company? If so, I’d say, let’s restrict our interaction to work-related issues only. If he contacted me at a personal email addy, I’d ask him not to email me at all, and I’d block his email addy.

  8. K says:

    My first instinct would be to ignore his slimy shenanigans via email and delete the message.

    But then I think this would need to be nipped in the bud as it’s possible he would pursue and PUHLEEZE. I would reply back with a simple, “That was inappropriate. Do not email me again.” No greeting. No signature. No please. No thank you.

    Damn Creepy Pete.

  9. Innerdiva says:

    I’d ask him if how that related to daycare matters or my child. And then cc his wife. I’m guessing there’s a parent contact list he got your email address from?

  10. Ames says:

    Reply to his email, include his wife on the reply, and ask, “were you guys sending this to me?”
    Ohhhhh, to be a fly on the wall of that house.

    I would not speak to the man, ever.

  11. onefromphilly says:

    Well…..you know me by now. I would tell him to back the fukc up! The end. He would then assume I was a foul mouth crazy black woman. In other words label me a bytch. HA!

    I’m good with that.

    • jamie says:

      you’ve got the right Idea here, tell the low down cheatin’ bastid how you feel and maybe eye poke him for good measure. Silence is acceptance and not putting him in his place will guarantee continued unwanted advances from him. in the end him leaving you alone is all that matters.

  12. 1969 says:

    I would email back “Please do not email me again. I don’t engage in correspondence of any kind with married men.” Done. Plain and simple.

  13. pserendipity says:

    I wouldn’t do anything. Radio silence from me forever more would be my response.

  14. In regard to the emailing dude, since you alluded to him already crossing the line with you prior to this in some form or fashion, I think you need to be a little more direct in your approach. He seems to be trying to test the waters so I would make it abundantly clear that you found his comments inappropriate. I would definitely send an email response.

  15. LoriF says:

    I think had he made this comment in passing at the school during some of your polite chit-chat, although awkward to receive, he would be able to see your body language in response & realize your discomfort withhis advances. The fact that he made the effort to email you separately & ‘discreetly’, calling you by name, tells me that this was most definitely a calculated move. He is absolutely testing waters. I think I would politely inform him that thus maneuver is unappreciated, and that you prefer to keep your ‘relationship’ with him at an aquaintance-level. Give him a pass this once for being an overt snake so you can avoid awkwardness at school functions. But I would tell him any further inappropriate communication, whether direct or indirect, will be reported to his wife. Then I’d save both emails as proof.

    • Kimmy says:

      “cobwebs all up in my Queen Victoria” Hilarious! I was crying laughing when I read that! Anyway, I would email Jim and let him know that it was inappropriate and to never email me again. I wouldn’t involve his wife though. I don’t think that’s necessary at this point.

  16. missmajestic says:

    I wouldn’t respond at all. If he says something or sends another email I would ask him to stop contacting me. And side eye to the teacher telling you that. trying to start something.

  17. dmac1990 says:

    Nothing this time because he needs to say something else to me. Face to face. Then I would smilingly, low voice cuss him smuvdafuk out.

  18. AmyG says:

    I would probably ignore it, but something tells me that will just fuel his fire….If he did contact again, I want to tell you to forward emails to his wife but I don’t even think I would have the balls to do that…i hate hearing this about married men. assholes.

Say something

