Janky

In addition to inheriting my joie de vivre, it seems Regan has also inherited my penchant for janky hair styles.  The other day at the “beach” I noticed how cute her little friend’s hair was.  It was in a bunch of mini twists and she looked cute with a little bow in it.  I decided to try my hand at twists on baby’s hair.

It took a solid hour and here are the results.  Kinda cute.  Kinda.

After she slept on them they weren’t so cute, but I sent her to school anyway because she’s 2 and…who really cares.

The third morning, however, was the jankiest.  No way I could send baby coolio to school looking like that while I was looking oh so fine (no, really) so I undid the twists hoping we’d have a cute little twistout.  No such luck.

In the end I sprayed it with some water in an effort to fluff it up and added a couple of ponytails on top to give the illusion of a purposeful style.

Tomorrow, we go back to pony puffs and braids.

 

 

This entry was posted in Hair. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Janky

  1. kena says:

    I wonder if you used smaller sections? I will sometimes twist my hair. It takes me 2 hrs to do and will last 1 week before getting frizzy. I do tie down my haie at night…that probably makes a difference. Keep trying, you will find something that works that will last a few days and look good.

  2. I think they are cute! I wish Sydney would sit down long enough for me to try a style like this.

    If you try again you may want to go with smaller twists but that will mean double the time. 😦

  3. Shea says:

    I’ve tried twists on Jay’s hair too. Yeeeah, not a good look yet. Maybe next year.

  4. Nerd Girl says:

    I think her hair is cute! I’ve been wanting to put smaller twists in LG’s hair, but I’m not sure the extra work is worth it. I only do her hair once a week now unless it’s really messy or she’s been in the pool. Not sure smaller twists would last any longer.

  5. Serenity23 says:

    I love the photos with the headband the most. I think smaller twists will last longer and with tying her hair down at night. Maybe if you get some extra time one weekend you could test it out.

  6. SissySays says:

    LOL I’m HOLLERIN’ over here at “baby coolio”! Smart and pretty always wins the day, looking janky about the head every once in a while keeps them on their toes. I applaud your efforts

  7. Gladys says:

    The cutest!

  8. onefromphilly says:

    My fiance’s 10 y.o daughter is with us for the Summer. Everytime she comes her Mom gets her hair braided beforehand. NOT THIS TIME! When I saw her at the airport I gasped. All I could think of was “how in the world am I supposed to deal with that hair”???? She goes to camp, and loves to swim. I’ve been loced for 7 years now, and never had a little daughter. Needless to say, you ain’t seen janky until you have seen my girl’s ponytails this week!! LOL
    We will be at the Braiding Salon come sun-up Saturday!

  9. heartdrops says:

    *dead* at baby coolio! LMAO!

  10. t. sheree says:

    Her hair is cute! Of course more practice will get you to a place you like, so I understand. But yeah, it’s cute! 🙂

  11. Hahahaha, baby coolio! not even close. I like the pic with the headband most. Regan is such a pretty baby.

  12. discodiva73 says:

    I think its cute and amazed she sat for an hour for you to do it!

  13. Kimmy says:

    I style my daughter’s hair like that all the time. I use Jane Carter wrap and roll foam. I also use that Jane Carter cream in the jar to give it some shine. Just keep practicing and you’ll get better at it.

Say something

